Sales Support (Female, Age 54) in Rahway, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 54 who works as a Sales Support in Rahway, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Support
Salary $27,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Rahway, NJ
Years Experience 4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Poundex Furniture company a wholesale orginization. We supply different items for the home and office. We don’t sell to the public. It has a branch in Nj and Ca.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Answer phones, keep track oh schedules and shipments.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 5 days sick leave, Atena health insurance, 401 k plan.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compsensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with the public on a daily basis. It’s very rewarding.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am I get in at about 9:45 , the first thing I do is anser the phones.
10am to 11am I schedule deliveries of orders
11am to 12pm I go into my computer to see if everything is running as planned.
12pm to 1pm Lunch break
1pm to 2pm Meet with my boss to ask him answer any questions he may have
2pm to 3pm Check with the crew in the warehouse about upcoming pick ups or deliveries
3pm to 4pm More phone orders from businesses
4pm to 5pm Make copies, use the fax machine
5pm to 6pm Confirm orders and go home at about 6.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I answered an add in the newspaper

What was the application process?
Meet with owner, submit resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, there was an interview with the owner of company, I met with him once and he said he’d be in touch.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked what I could offer to the company and if I was billingual.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes he did, he was very helpful.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I had to read a huge manual , and meet with another employee to get training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Put in an application , be able to speak Spanish and be patient.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They should have social skills because there is a lot of phone work, be able to work well with co-workers and have a positive attitude.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not neccesarily nut i’m sure it can’t hurt.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be on time every morning ,have a smile on your face and be ready to talk.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is. I love working with others and I have good phone skills.

What are your current career goals?
I just want to continie to go to work everyday with no problems.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love Poundex and am blessed to be here.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 recruiter 2 yrs 28000 I had to call people up and ask them if they wanted to participate in different studies for products such as shampoo , sunblock , and various cosmetics. We were testing for allergies.
Prior Job 2 sales 3 yrs 25000 I sold furniture to the public.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5 middlesex county college accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.