Warehouse Technician 2 (Female, Age 26) in DeKalb, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Warehouse Technician 2 in DeKalb, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleWarehouse Technician 2
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationDeKalb, NY
Years Experience1.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Panduit is a global leader in physical infrastructure solutions, specializing in wiring and communications applications. There are over 3500 employees and two million square feet of facilities worldwide.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Oversee and coordinate the operations of the general warehouse workforce. Work in conjunction with customer service to pick, pack, and ship orders.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Two weeks vacation, then three weeks after five years. Up to 64 hours of paid sick leave. 401K with an employer match of 4% of 5% employee input. Full medical/dental benefits for immediate family with a PPO/HMO option.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, it does. I like it. Its more of a collaborative effort. Everyone needs to do their job in a timely manner for things to run smoothly.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It’s a warehouse. It can be dusty/grimy at times and sometimes the air is a little too dry, but its not too bad. With a large open space like this, it can get too hot/cold during the year, but its generally tolerable.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
There was a posting on the billboard at the front gate.

What was the application process?
An electronic application for the entry level position, then a paper application for the in-house promotion.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
There were two interviews for my current job. Both were individual interviews. The first was with the shift foremen, then the second was with their supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They mostly pertained to how I would react with other employees. Things like workplace safety (What would you do if you saw someone doing something that you know was unsafe?) and productivity (If you saw that another employee was struggling to complete his/her task, would you help?)were covered. There were also questions pertaining to how I would handle the stress involved with the job.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Beyond the training procedures, there is also a good group of co-workers and supervisors to draw information from.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was a week-long training process for my current job, which built upon the knowledge I had from my previous position. The training consisted of how to respond to different situations, but it was the repetition afterward that was especially helpful.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
It’s not really applicable. I did not go to school with this job in mind. Graduating high school was more than enough to prove I am competent at this job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start at the entry level to gain a sense of understanding of general day to day operations. A college degree isn’t required, but is useful. Work diligently to move up the ladder.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organizational skills are very important. The ability to multi-task is used almost constantly. You need to understand which orders need to be expedited and plan accordingly. Social skills are not necessary, but are very useful. You need to be able to fix mistakes and solve problems caused by other employees. Occasionally you need to be a part time mediator/psychologist. Basic computer skills are used, being able to navigate through screens is really helpful.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not particuarly. A high school diploma/GED equivalent will do.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It’s not a very glamorous job, but you get great benefits and it pays well for the work you do. It’s a bit physical, but its very rare that you lift anything over fifty pounds. You can put in your eight hours a day and go home; you never have to worry about work once your shift ends. Just come in, do your work at a reasonable pace and you’ll have no problems.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is now. Given that I’m generally un-ambitious, I can see myself settling in here for the long haul.

What are your current career goals?
I’m pretty well set in my career. The possibilities for upward movement are rare at this point, but I’m content with where I’m at.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s not a job for everyone and there are people who will see this work as beneath them. But for a person like me with no college degree and few actual skills, its a great job that pays well.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1loader/unloader9 months11.25 per hourLoading and unloading packages onto and off of trailers.
Prior Job 2Hard Line Replenishment6 months9.75Restocking items in hard line areas (Electronics, Hardware, etc)

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.3ish

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.7ishNorthern Illinois UniversityN/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.