Residential Supervisor (Female, Age 25) in Stoneham, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Residential Supervisor in Stoneham, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Residential Supervisor
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Stoneham, MA
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in a good size agency. They assist children and families in a variety of ways with both outpatient and in residential settings. I work in a residential home.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Watching the teenagers, behavior modification, transporting, and communicating with DCF

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, 1 week sick, 3 personal days, full health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
decently compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, the people I work with are truly a team with me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am arrived to work at 8am. Transported 3 children to day program
9am to 10am went to a second group home to stay with 2 clients who had to stay back from school. Helped the clients eat breakfast, clean around the house
10am to 11am worked on art project with a client
11am to 12pm picked up a client from school who was sick
12pm to 1pm had lunch with clients
1pm to 2pm meeting about budgeting and staffing issues
2pm to 3pm meeting about budgeting and staffing issues
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
paper application, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, 1 interview with the program director

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, there was plenty of training and shadowing time

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, one week of 40 hours of training. Physical restraint training as well as training on how to do behavior modification

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, the psychology classes helped with understanding why clients do what they do

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take psychology classes in school and have fun with what you do.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills!! Interacting with coworkers and clients is the job. You should be able to multi-task and should be responsible

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Some college is best

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Site Coordinator 2 years 20000
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Lesley College Bachelors Human Services
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
Lesley University Masters counseling Psychology

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.