Store Keeper (Male, Age 23) in Kissimmee, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 23 who works as a Store Keeper in Kissimmee, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Store Keeper
Salary $13,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location Kissimmee, FL
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the University of Central Florida. It is the second largest university in the United States. The last time I heard about the number of students that we have, myself included, the count was up to 56,000. I am employed at the Lake Nona campus which is devoted to science and medical school.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I receive and send packages, update inventory, secure the gate and manage forklifts when necessary.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I do have to work with others and this is something that I do enjoy, for the most part. If I did not have that opportunity, the work would be redundant and I would be bored out of my mind.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
The location is like a mini warehouse. Just about anyone can walk through. No air conditioning aside from a fan. Garage door that opens towards the gates. More or less, a fortress of solitude at times.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Just arrived at work. Responsibilities include unlocking gates, moving lifts from rest location and starting up computer.
8am to 9am First shipment of packages arrived. Duties include opening and closing gates, counting packages, writing down the reference number, writing name of recipient on the package, inputting reference number in inventory and delivering packages.
9am to 10am Gas vendor arrives. Responsibilities include opening & closing gate, taking driver to front office to sign in and helping out with any issues that the driver may have.
10am to 11am Second and third shipments of packages arrive. The duties involved with this are the same ones that go along with the shipment from the 8am-9am hour. Here the job gets a bit difficult because there is a lot of traffic in the work area and there is constant movement between the gates, trucks and people in the area.
11am to 12pm After inputting the package data in the inventory I go to the front office to deliver all of the day’s packages.
12pm to 1pm Unexpected truck comes in. Duties include calling the driver’s contact person, taking the driver to the front office to sign in and helping him to find his destination.
1pm to 2pm No trucks pass through. This is where it can get really boring because there is not much to do since all the work orders are in and there are no expected deliveries.
2pm to 3pm Time to create busy-work in order to save oneself from death by boredom.
3pm to 4pm Prepare for closing the building. Lock the gates, return the forklifts to their rest area, make sure the area is secure.
4pm to 5pm Clean up some odds and ends and make sure all is set for tomorrow. Clock out.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Friend reference.

What was the application process?
I was asked my availability to see if it matched what they needed. It did and I was given the job.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did not have to interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
No questions were asked other than availability.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I believe they did because I have a full understanding of my role.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was training on how to manage the inventory system and the process of receiving and sending packages.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I know my way around a computer, in this sense my education was very beneficial to my role.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I have not done any internships.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
For a job like this one you need to have an outgoing personality, be detail oriented and be able to communicate well with others.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Communication skills (verbal and technical) are vital in addition to organizational skills. People working in this field need to be able to speak to every vendor and client that comes through the building. They need to be personable and clear in their speech. Organization skills are highly important as well because the person needs to be able to have a pristine understanding and knowledge of all of the items in the inventory.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
High school diploma although some college experience would be helpful.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Pace yourself and take things one step at a time. There are times when there are many different things happening at once but one needs to set certain priorities so as to not miss important details. The little things are very important in this role and if the person doing the job tries to rush through their responsibilities they are more likely to miss them.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is only part of my career plan in the sense that it is allowing me to pay the bills that I currently have as a student. It is not in the same field as what I hope to do in the future.

What are your current career goals?
To put it simply, I’m working to be an actor in film. My immediate goal is to obtain my bachelor’s degree in Communications then I will move to a different city to work towards becoming an actor.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
The question before this one covers it in basic form.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Character attendant still employed 9/hr Attend, protect and secure the character performers while interacting with guests and creating a safe environment for everyone.
Prior Job 2 Quick Service Restaurant 2 years 8.50/hr This role required being able to prepare foods and serve them to the hotel guests. It was also necessary to be able to clean the area and speak with the guests in an approachable manner.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4 University of Central Florida Communications
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.