Sales Associate 

(Male, Age 22) from Blacksburg, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 22 who works as a Sales Associate in Blacksburg, VA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Associate
Salary $22,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 25
Company Size (not answered)
Location Blacksburg, VA
Years Experience 1 year

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Walmart. Let’s be honest we all know what a Walmart is.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I unlock pricey items, answer questions, pretty much just help any customers that are walking around my department

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
one week vacation one week sick leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
slightly under-well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes – I love it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 6

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I saw it open.

What was the application process?
online application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, it was one interview and it had a bunch of questions

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
all questions were similar to the following: “tell me about a time when you went out of your way to help some one”

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. They gave me the uniform and the keys.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
People skills are mostly learned in high school.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
There’s pretty much a 100% hire rate – so all one would have to do is apply.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills definitely. A little bit of responsibility wouldn’t hurt eihter.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Keep a smile on your face.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no – I was supposed to be an engineer

What are your current career goals?
I’d like to go back to college but won’t be able to for a while.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Walmart isn’t as bad of a company as some people think it is.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.95

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.