Account Executive (Female, Age 31) in Mandeville, LA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 31 who works as a Account Executive in Mandeville, LA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAccount Executive
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMandeville, LA
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a Destination Management Company. We plan programs for groups that come into New Orleans for Conventions/Conferences/Incentive Trips, etc. Some of the items we assist groups with are Airport Transportation, Tours/Excursions, Dinners, Off-Site Events, Hotel/Event Decor, Entertainment, Golf Outings, etc.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am in the Sales Department. I work with a Client from the beginning either from a call into our office, an email into our main server, or a lead from the New Orleans CVB or another source. I handle everything that they may need until their program needs are contracted, then I hand the program over to the Operations Department who handles all logistics.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 6 sick/personal days, 1 free day off per month, 401K, Health Insurance for myself

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under to Well Compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I enjoy working with others. We have a good team, so it is easy to work with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. The Sales Department is in an open room, so we can all see and interact with each other at any time. This can be good and bad depending on what we have going on (i.e. Conference Calls mean our entire team is on the call 🙂 )

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amLeaving for work to drop off my child to my mother’s house. Approximately 30 – 40 minutes away, then off to work, approximately 40 minutes away.
8am to 9amStill on the way to work.
9am to 10amStart off with checking emails and phone messages. At 9:30, I had a meeting with a local photographer that may be able to work for some of our events. Great meeting that I was able to set-up. All staff was able to attend.
10am to 11amFinishing up meeting. Left work with a co-worker to drive to our Mardi Gras items store. We had ordered some Feather masks for one of our groups that has a program next week. The masks will be used at their event at a local Restaurant/Brewery. They are doing a Mardi Gras theme and having a table set up with different Masks that guests can pick from.
11am to 12pmOn the way back to the office. Skipping lunch today because our Owner has decided to close the office at 2:00 today since the Saints/Vikings game is tonight. We work very close to the Superdome and it will be difficult to get out of here later.
12pm to 1pmHad a call with a Client who has a program in New Orleans in January 2011. I am about to get the contract together for the different elements we are handling for them (Walking Mardi Gras Parade for their guests to take them from their hotel to their event at the House of Blues, House of Blues event from Food & Beverage to Entertainment to Decor). This is all that we are contracting for them at this point. We may also handle their Tours/Excursions for their guests as well as their Airport Transportation. Discussed what to include in their contract for now.
1pm to 2pmFollowed up on emails and worked on a Proposal for another Client that may have a program here in March 2011. Have to put together a document that contains pricing for Transportation, Dinners at Local Restaurants, Tours/Excursions, Golf, and Decor/Entertainment.
2pm to 3pmLeft office early for the Saints Game.
3pm to 4pmOn a normal day, would still be working on Proposals and Contracts and contacting clients for follow-ups. I typically send out 2 proposals a day to different clients. We are usually up against other Destination Management Companies, so I have to take that into consideration with every proposal and make sure that I stay in contact with all clients.
4pm to 5pmSame as above.
5pm to 6pmBegin my journey to home. On M,W,F, I do not have to pick up my child as my husband will do this since she goes to school/daycare on those days. The daycare is down the street from our house.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Friend used to work here and when I was moving back to the city, I remembered and looked up the company again. At that time, another person I knew happened to be working there, so I called to see if they were hiring. She was actually having a baby and was leaving, so it just happened to be right place/right time.

What was the application process?
Submitted resume, in-person interview, and phone interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I submitted my resume. Then, I came into town and interviewed with the Owner and Director of Marketing. Then, I had a phone interview with the Director of Operations and Director of Sales (they were not in town when I came in for my first interview). Then, I was offered the job a few days later.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Honestly, I don’t remember what I was asked. I think it was about previous jobs and duties.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I learn something new every day. My boss has definitely helped any time I needed assistance.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not specifically.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes because I feel like I matured in college which is what you really need in this field. And I learned a lot as far as business in general.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I am in the Hospitality field, so starting at any place in that field is good (i.e. Hotels, Restaurants, etc.). It is important to get involved in Hospitality organizations (MPI, ISES, CVB, ADME, etc.).

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organized, Can handle multiple projects at one time, proficient in Microsoft programs, Personable, Professional, Interacts well with others, outgoing, self-motivator/self-starter, Love the city you are in.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
College degree should be sufficient

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
You really have to love your city and be passionate about wanting people/groups to come here. I sell our city everyday, as much as the CVB does. I love this job because it is something different every day. I am not behind a desk 40 hours a week. I meet with potential clients and show them what our city has to offer.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I believe I will be here for a while.

What are your current career goals?
This is what I love doing. Of course, one day I would like to go into business myself or find something closer to where I live.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a very exciting job and lots of variety.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Bar Manager2 yearsHourly + tipsBartended and Managed Bar for a Country Club.
Prior Job 2Bar Manager5$30,000 + tipsBartended and Managed Bar for a local Hotel.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2University of Southern MississippiBachelor’s Degree in Business Administration
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.