Temp Finance Consultant (Female, Age 32) in new york, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Temp Finance Consultant in new york, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTemp Finance Consultant
Salary$24,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationnew york, NY
Years Experience2 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for media company that specializes in online games. It is a medium size company that is growing.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I help out the whole finance department in whatever they need done. Duties include data entry in excel, Microsoft Dynamics, and filing.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I worked with others on daily basis since I am helping everyone in the finance department. I like it fine.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. I prefer to work at home as I do not like commuting.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am
10am to 11amLog on to computer and check Microsoft Outlook for emails. Continue with project from previous day. Open zip file and Microsoft Excel. Create new sheet in Excel and renamed it for the vendor. Search through zip file for right data. Copy and paste into new sheet.
11am to 12pmCreate another new sheet in Excel for another vendor. Copy and paste data from zip file into new format. Finish project and email to accountant for review.
12pm to 1pmEmail Dynamics Supervisor for new project to be conducted in Microsoft Dynamics. Waiting for reponses from both emails.
1pm to 2pmLunch.
2pm to 3pmHave new project with Dynamics Supervisor. Open up Microsoft Dynamics and log on. For this project, I need to delete previous information in the system and enter correct data. Look over the data on paper and bring the work up from Dynamics. Enter the correct new data into system.
3pm to 4pmContinue with the same project. Spoke with Supervisor on some of the incorrect information. Some of the information he gave me is incorrect.
4pm to 5pmI will need to enter all this information now into another part of Microsoft Dynamics. Need to enter the data into a new company.
5pm to 6pmContinuing the same project.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I got it through Monster, a internet job placement site.

What was the application process?
I was interview over the phone and got the job right away.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I have interview over the phone and got the job. It was pretty simple.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was ask basically if I knew a certain program and I did. I got hired right away.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I already knew the work and what I don’t know, they explained.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really since I studied art in college.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I posted my resume online as public and it seem to get a lot of results. Make sure you get your resume to be visible everywhere.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I got hired because I know Microsoft Dynamics which is relatively new accountant program. Anyone who wants a similar should know that program and Microsoft Office which is widely used everywhere now. They should also be able to multi-tasked and be patient.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, I have previous experience which help in getting this job and I went to college and got a BA degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work experience is more important than having a degree. If you can’t get a position that you like, look for something more entry level and work from bottom up.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
This is not part of my career plan as I am only working here until I figure out what I want to do.

What are your current career goals?
I am studying to be web designer.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1office manager6 monthsnoneMaintain records of students and answer phones. Greet people and answer their question. Help out with classes.
Prior Job 2Production Asst.1 year11/hrScan in photos and fix them for videos. Data entry.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
SVABachelor of Arts
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.