Social Worker (Female, Age 36) in Bronx, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 36 who works as a Social Worker in Bronx, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSocial Worker
Salary$66,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week37.5
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBronx, NY
Years Experience9 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
it is a home care agency that is hospital based. We provide community and health care to those who have been discharged from the hospital and provide nursing, rehabilitation, and social work services. We employ thousands of staff members

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I visit patients in the home and conduct biopsychosocial assessments which include but not limited to financial, emotional assessments and link my patients to community resources as well as advocate for them with community agencies

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1199 insurance including full medical, dental and prescription coverage

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I am in the office with my coworkers part of the day and then in the field visiting patients for the remainder . I love being in the field but I dislike that my agency overworks us

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I am in the office half of the day and in the field the rest of the day. The office is great but sometimes people talk too much and I can’t get my paperwork done. The field is great but sometimes I get tired of drivingin all kinds of weather

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGetting ready for work and showering
8am to 9amBegan heading into the field to see my first patient
9am to 10amWent to see my 1st patient who is 88 and lives alone in a walkup apt in a private home..She is short of breath and lives in a very cluttered apt.
10am to 11ammet with my second patient who i am trying to get ADAp insurance from . I contacted hospital medicaid office to get a budget letter for him
11am to 12pmMet with my patient who is 92 and her son..we are working on trying to get her food stamps and long term care
12pm to 1pmtook a lunch break in my car and went to McDonalds for ice coffee
1pm to 2pmmet with
2pm to 3pmmet with 3rd visit who was a lady who is becoming forgetful, spoke to her daughter by phone regarding meals on wheels and private hire aides
3pm to 4pmmet with my 4th patient and spoke to her daughter by phone to discuss assisting her to get medicaid for home attendant services
4pm to 5pmcompleted paperwork in my car on laptop computer
5pm to 6pmvisited a patient from my 2nd job who has schizophrenia . I usually meet with her son also who has the same illness and I provide counseling
6pm to 7pmreturned home to eat dinner and do paperwork
7pm to 8pmI am on the internet checking email .
8pm to 9pmI will be doing paperwork and watch movies
9pm to 10pmthe same as above
10pm to 11pmI will plan to go to bed
11pm to 12amI am in bed reading a book, preparing for sleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
through a friend

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, 2 intervieiws, it involved meeting with my direct supervisor and human resources. They were both individual interviews

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Asked about my previous jobs and how i would handle certain situations

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, he provided dailly orientation for 1 week

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I learned the necessary skills to effectively deal with people

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, I had the opportunity to gain hands on experience with people

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
reconsider because although it is rewarding , as a profession social work is not high paid. You need to supplement with other jobs

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Master’s Degree in Social Work, social skills, patience, listening and reflective skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, master’s degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
pay attention to your patients first and foremost

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes because i plan to remain in this job

What are your current career goals?
To remain at current position

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
just that it is rough but rewarding

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1assistant director3.5 yrs42000supervised 4 substance abuse counselors and held caseload of 10 substance abusing women . Facilitated groups and individual counseling
Prior Job 2AIDS nursing home1 yr37000supervised 3 substance abuse counselors, held caseload of 20 patients and provided individual counseling

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.75Fordham UniversityBachelors Degree in psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
Fordham UniversityMasters degree in social work

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.