Field Service Engineer (Male, Age 35) in Houston, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 35 who works as a Field Service Engineer in Houston, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleField Service Engineer
Salary$70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45 to 50 hours
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHouston, TX
Years Experience9 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Diagnostica Stago Inc.(DSI) based in Parsippanny, NJ. The parent company DSI is head quartered in Frnace and that is where all production is. DSI specializes in Coagualtion/Haemostasis field. DSI makes instruments, reagents (both routine and special) and further educates and does research. Instruments and reagents are used by different facilities all over the world to test patients. Size: more than 10,000 employees worldwide. In U.S. more than 250 t0 300 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Install new or refurbished instruments at customer’s facility, sales demos, product shows etc. to ensure full functionality according to DSI specs. Analyzes review and inspection findings to determine source of problem and performs repair, replacement or other corrective action.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical / Dental / Vision / 401(K) / Company vehicle or allowance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Work mainly with customers. I like it as one is not going to the same place everyday. sometimes traveling can make huge stress and odd and long hours can make it stressful which i dislike.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home and in the field. Dislike odd and long hours. sometimes dislike traveling back to back for weeks.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amFRIDAY, May 25th, 2007.
8am to 9amChecked company voice mail to see if there were any pending service calls to go at any customer site as I work out of home office. Had one call for Houston, TX in the medical center. everyday at about 8;30am I have to leave update with my manager and head office where and what I will be doing so left that and after checking my work email, sync in the info and downloading service call headed for the service call to be done at one of the hospital in medical center.
9am to 10amStarted travel from home office and still traveling.
10am to 11amReached the hospital in Medical Center at about 10:15 am. parked the company vehicle and gathered all things I needed to complete the job. I carry tool box, laptop, parts and documentation or other kits as needed. Reached customer site in the laboratory at about 10:30am. Customer had some pending work to finish. so waited for that and gathered info for their problem.
11am to 12pmStarted troubleshooting medical equipment at about 10:45am. Out of two problems fixed one as per customer satisfaction. Second problem replaced part and ran tests to make sure problem was eliminated. Customer started running different tests.
12pm to 1pmCustomer still did not have any problem. After more than 1.25 hours of operation customer had one error. Found to fix the problem customer will need a loader assembly. Customer still operational. Scheduled visit with customer for next week after new part arrives.
1pm to 2pmOrdered new part through head office and checked voice mail to see if there was anything else pending. Left update with manager and hotline at head office that now I was on my was to home office.
2pm to 3pmArrived at home office around 2:30 pm. Received call from another fellow Field Service Engineer who was on his way to Dallas, Tx from SanAntonio, TX to backup another engineer. Talked about problem he was going to work on and discussed my findings and other work issues. I became a back up for him temporarily.
3pm to 4pmNo service calls. Available.
4pm to 5pmNo service calls. Available. At 5:00 pm it was end of work day.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Through College placement

What was the application process?
Resume, Paper test and three interviews, driver licencse and credit check.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
three interviews. Interviewd with the director of company. First interview was individual interview and included a paper test. Resume was already submitted before first interview was even scheduled. If paper test was sucessful with good merits then second interview was scheduled at head office. which was group interview with several people. Third interview was the job offer and other small formalities.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Describe a customer and how can they be satisfied.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
80 to 85% the employer prepared me.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. Was trained on all instruments and coagulation theory.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Education had a role of about 70%.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get prepared for working long, odd hours. Also get prepared for stressful times as depending on area he/she has to cover it can take a toll on family life. In work like this experience knowing customers and their demands and troubleshooting a complex problem can be very challenging and one should be ready for it and not just consider this as a 8:30 am to 5:00pm job in just one city. Job requires overnight travel, stay and physical too.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Technical skills- knowledge of electronics, electricity and mechanics.Computer Skills- basic knwledge of DOS, windows NT, MS Word, excel, Database and internet software and other email programs. Language Skills- Ability to read and interpret documents such as safety rules, operating and maintennace instructions, and procedure manuals. Ability to write routine reports and correspondence. Ability to speak effectively before group of customers or employees of the company.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Advice would be to get ready for lot of variables. Job could be physically demanding as it requires standing, lifting, entering statistical data, etc. Job can have odd hours to finish work and requires travel sometimes more than 50% of time.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. I like the job and want to apply for a management position in the future.

What are your current career goals?
Complete graduation with Management degree and go for Management positions.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.95DeVry UniversityElectronics Engineering Technology and B.S.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)