Registered Nurse (Female, Age 42) in Springfield, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 42 who works as a Registered Nurse in Springfield, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleRegistered Nurse
Salary$49,920
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week32
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSpringfield, PA
Years Experience9 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a moderately sized hospital homecare company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I visit patients in their home to instruct and assess their illnesses. I administer medication and provide care to six patients daily.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, dental, vision, vacation/personal time

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with a variety of patients every day with different problems. I also work with insurance companies, physicians, discharge planners and other nurses on a daily basis. I enjoy meeting new people every day and working with a variety of people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in the field. I love this because it gives me a sense of autonomy and I can set my own schedule. I dislike it when it snows and the weather is bad.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
They contacted me.

What was the application process?
Submitted a resume and went for an interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had one interview with the director of homecare. It was an individual interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I cannot recall.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I did not go out on my own until I felt absolutely comfortable.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was trained by following another nurse through her day for several days.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My nursing skills were honed throughout nursing school.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Make a telephone call to the specific department and ask if they are hiring. Or send a letter to the director of the department.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You need to have good assessment skills because you are the only person in the home eith the patient. You have to be organized, and have good interpersonal skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You need your RN, so a BSN would be good.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
You need to stay on top of the paperwork, because it can back up on you very quickly. Stay organized and stay in touch with your supervisor.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, because it is in the healthcare field.

What are your current career goals?
To continue to work in the healthcare field with a switch from patient care to insurance in several years.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1RN9 years32000Visit patients in their home and instruct and assess their condition.
Prior Job 2RN3 years27000Floor nurse caring for patients with a variety of illnesses.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Neumann CollegeNursing, BSN
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.