Office Manager 

(Female, Age 29) from Omaha, NE

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Office Manager in Omaha, NE. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Office Manager
Salary $42,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Omaha, NE
Years Experience 9 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Small optometry office

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Insurance claims, patient prescreen, office supplies, scheduling

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Uniforms reimbursment, free eyewear

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I would say that my compensation is average for an office managers position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes it does entail working with others. Generally this is something that I like.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Dr’s office. I dislike our location because we are located in a mall that is not in the best part of town.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 4

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referred by a friend.

What was the application process?
Filled out application in the store.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had an interview with the distirct manager and was hired that same day.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was given a job description and was asked if this was something that I was intersted in and that was the extent of my interview.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. The Dr’s and other employees did a great job of helping learn everything.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes the training was all on the job training with the Dr’s.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
There was really no education needed foe this position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would suggest making sure that the Dr’s that they work with are nice and down to Earth.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
It’s a must to have social and orginational skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
At least a high school diploma.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure thsat you enjoy working with people.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is. I can grow and learn from the current managers position that I have to better myself.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to stay in the healthcare field but mabe switch to a recruiting position.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Cashier 7 months 19000
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.