Legal Secretary/Aid (Female, Age 33) in Silverhill, AL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Legal Secretary/Aid in Silverhill, AL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLegal Secretary/Aid
Salary$37,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSilverhill, AL
Years Experience9 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A law firm. We have 47 attorney positions, 29 paralegals and approximately 70 secretaries.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Summarize depositions, arrange to have stenographer readings. File cases, interview clients. Anything needed.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Three weeks vacation, full insurance, sick leave. Blue Cross/Blue Shield. 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
For the area where I live I am fairly compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I interact with co-workers, clients, judges, clerks, etc. I enjoy working around people very much.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am7 a.m. is what time I usually get to work (depending on who I’m working with that day). The first hour is taken up answering and replying to in-firm e-mail first. Next client e-mail.
8am to 9amFirst job at 8 a.m. is any phone calls to be returned and checking in on the court docket. Also heading to court the majority of days.
9am to 10amThis is the busiest time for meetings, depositions. Today (Wednesday) we had a three hour deposition. My job was to listen in, take notes. Also to expedite the copy from our court reporter.
10am to 11amStill in deposition.
11am to 12pmDeposition until 12:28.
12pm to 1pmLunchtime. Twice a week is lunch with a senior partner to discuss a current case.
1pm to 2pmAgain checking both e-mails and returning phone calls. Also sorting daily mail and preparing outgoing mail.
2pm to 3pmMost quiet part of the day. Three intake interviews today. This consists of getting as much background, details, etc. on new clients.
3pm to 4pmAlso in intake meetings.
4pm to 5pmWind-down time. This is when we check e-mails, etc for the last time, try to prepare for the next day. File anything with the court, file all papers, cases, etc. that have been taken. Any that we don’t take we have to log out on a master list.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from a temporary service.

What was the application process?
I went for an interview to fill in for one day. They were pleased with my work so I stayed.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No, I interviewed for a typist slot.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How fast I could type, how accurate. Also experience.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was told just what my responsibilities were as well as offered a chance to ask any questions.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I have an associate’s degree in business management. It did help me qualify for the position.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
To some degree as far as skills. I did discover a few things I wasn’t prepared for.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, I was able to learn the ropes of the company.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
To be sure to find an attorney with which you have good rapport.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You have to have high organization skills, also you have to be a bit of a diplomat.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Not to be overwhelmed, don’t be afraid to ask for help.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Originally no. Now, yes. I can’t imagine enjoying anything else.

What are your current career goals?
To be solely a paralegal.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Even the most hectic job can be wonderful.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Legal Secretary2 years24000General legal secretary.
Prior Job 2Secretary/Receptionist1.5 years22000I worked for a sole practitioner, did all of the work a secretary/paralegal/receptionist would normally do.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8Faulkner StateBusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.