Sales Associate 

(Female, Age 30) from sault ste marie, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Sales Associate in sault ste marie, MI. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Associate
Salary $15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 32
Company Size (not answered)
Location sault ste marie, MI
Years Experience 9 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for mass retailers with chains around the world, my store has 250 assoicates

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
price changes, pricing, stocking shelves inventory, cashier customer service

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I like working with the public unless they become obxious!! I have great customer service skills

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work on the salesfloor we can be around people though it is sometimes easier to be alone in order to get your work donw without disruptions

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 7
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, 2 interviews personel manager indiviual

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no I was thrown in and sort of found my way to do things , they showed me how to run the cash, but certain policies and wtc. wre not addressed

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I took certain classes in high school to prepare

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
to get used to working long hours and to make the best out of certain situations and most love working with the public

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills to deal with customer service , organization to get your work done in a timely matter

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
to do your best and help out at much as possible, go to dif. stores to prove you want to wrk with this company

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i like to work with the community

What are your current career goals?
to work in retail and with people

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.