Project Manager (Male, Age 42) in New York, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 42 who works as a Project Manager in New York, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleProject Manager
Salary$55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week65
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNew York, NY
Years Experience9 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Americon Construction Inc. is one of the most experienced, innovative interior construction management and consulting firms in the New York Metropolitan Area. Along with our European and Far Eastern affiliates, Americon completes well over three hundred projects each year, ranging in size and complexity from routine renovations and maintenance construction to total building “retrofits”; from modest office and retail installations to state-of-the-art data centers, trading facilities, and total core and shell / interior build outs.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am in charge of organizing and managing resources required to complete a project within defined time and cost constraints. I finished the interior of two floors for Yahoo.com in Times Square. I also worked on the core and shell of Pronovias USA in 5th Ave. Right now, I am working on two more floors for Yahoo.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
undercompensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I have to work with several subcontractors and their laborers as well as my immediate superior. I encounter a lot of difficulties with workers being late to work, taking off early, or not showing up entirely. I like learning new things from the different supervisors on how their particular trade operates.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in the field for core and shell projects and in the office for interior construction. I like both, core and shell projects are more challenging but involves some dirty work while office work can be boring sometimes but I don’t have to be exposed to the elements, snow, rain, etc.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I saw them working on a project in New York City and inquired inside the jobsite.

What was the application process?
I gave my resume to my contact, and went through several interviews with the superiors.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to go through several individual interviews. I was grilled a lot because I did not have any experience in interior construction. Most of my experiences were in building bridges and highways.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked if I can work with a team. And if I am willing to dedicate most of my time to the company and its various projects.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, I was put to work at once and I did not have the experience they required.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had a week of training which involved working with a previous project manager who had left for a job at a competing company.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, I feel that I am able to carry on this job more so because of my previous experiences working at various jobs rather than my civil engineering education.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
It would be helpful to be good at reading blueprints, planning and scheduling and be familiar with Microsoft Project program.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Definitely organizational skills are important. It is necessary for a project manager to be able to come up with a reasonable schedule for a project and be able to encourage all the other workers involved to finish their tasks on time and within the specified budget.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
An engineering background will be most helpful, such as in my case

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would tell that person to be ready to deal with different characters/personalities as it is necessary to work with a lot of people from different trades.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it is a good company to work for and there is room for promotion.

What are your current career goals?
My current goal is to finish my present projects ahead of schedule and save money for the company. I would also like to find some projects for the company. I aim to be able to run several projects at a time with ease.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Project EngineerI was in charge of the Manhattan Bridge reconstruction project.
Prior Job 2Project EngineerI was in charge of part of the Long Island Expressway rehabilitation.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2RutgersCivil Engineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.