Credit Analyst (Male, Age 27) in los angeles, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 27 who works as a Credit Analyst in los angeles, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCredit Analyst
Salary$55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
Locationlos angeles, CA
Years Experience9 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a commercial bank with roughly 1200 employees.. We engage in all types of lending and other statndard banking products like checking and savings accounts.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Provide analysis for customers to determine their eligibility to meet our lending guidlines.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical, Dental, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I deal with coworkers and customers daily. I like this about my job as it keeps it fresh and entertaining.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a cubicle in a high rise bulding. I like the ability to work closely with others and I live close to work so that is an added bonus.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amasleep
8am to 9amdrive to work, sign in to my computer, get some coffee
9am to 10amspread customer tax returns and financial statements in excel
10am to 11amstart preparing a write up for a $4,000,000 loan request to build a spec home. Review customer spreads and construction budget.
11am to 12pmcontinue with write up, called cutomer to verify that the budget he provided was correct. call the title company to open a title order for the loan.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmresearched company on the internet. ordered a BICA report on the contractor by making a phone call.
2pm to 3pmdiscussed deal with my supervisor. made changes and recommendations to fix the write up to make it clearer for regional VP to review.
3pm to 4pmmade changes to the write up. added more information on the company and borrower. received 2004 tax returns on the borrower to add the the financial spreads.
4pm to 5pmFinished write up and got signature from my supervisor. placed the finished write up in the inbox of regional VP for approval.
5pm to 6pmmade a “to do” list for tomorrow. went home.
6pm to 7pmat home
7pm to 8pmat home
8pm to 9pmat home
9pm to 10pmat home
10pm to 11pmgo to bed
11pm to 12amsleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, one interview with regional VP and my current manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
My background, experience and specific questions to test my knowlege of lending.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, i came in with the experience neccessary for the job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I have a degree in finance that prepared me to work in a bank.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Try to gain as much experience as possible and graduate with a degree in business.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Strong in math and communication. Be able to think quickly and deal with customers. Be strong in computers, specifically Excel.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, college degree is neccessary.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work hard and try to learn as much as you can.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I plan to use this job to start a good career in banking.

What are your current career goals?
Eventually to become a CFO of a company an make lots of money.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Banking is not a boring as it sounds.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Analyst1.5 years43000Sold mortgages to residential customers.
Prior Job 2Loan Officer1.5 years48000Sold commercial loans to companies and some residential loans to customers

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.6WSUFinance
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.