Driver (Male, Age 30) in Van Nuys, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 30 who works as a Driver in Van Nuys, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDriver
Salary$27,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationVan Nuys, NY
Years Experience9 Months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
235 employees Picking up disabled people and driving them from point A to point B.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Drive people from point A to point B.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under Compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Outdoors. I like that I get to see the entire city.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amStart work at 7:00.
8am to 9amDoing my route.
9am to 10amDoing my route.
10am to 11amDoing my route.
11am to 12pmDoing my route.
12pm to 1pm12:30 Lunch 30 min
1pm to 2pmContinued route
2pm to 3pmContinued route.
3pm to 4pmContinued route.
4pm to 5pmFinish route. Report to base to give my report.
5pm to 6pmShift was over at 5:30
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Down the street from my prior job.

What was the application process?
Electronic application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. The proces was simple a few Q&A’s.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Pretty much about my past job experiences.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Showed me everything I need to know to perform the job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. It entailed defensive driving.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Prior to that I already drove aroung town.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go an apply and have a good driving record.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good Social skill and driving skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Mantain a good Driving record and Driving distance.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I have goals for the culinary arts.

What are your current career goals?
My goals are to mayor in the culinary arts industry.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Overall it’s a good job. Get to interact with other and see new parts of town.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Agent3 MonthsBased on CommisionSell policy’s.
Prior Job 2Owner1 Year5500Manage the entire store.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.