Legal Secretary (Female, Age 28) in Laurel, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Legal Secretary in Laurel, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLegal Secretary
Salary$24,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLaurel, NY
Years Experience9 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Small lawfirm with one lawyer and 6 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Everything

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amget ready for work

drive to work

8am to 9amdrive to work

open up the office

9am to 10amcomplete the task given to me on that particular day
10am to 11amcomplete the task given to me on that particular day
11am to 12pmcomplete the task given to me on that particular day
12pm to 1pmcomplete the task given to me on that particular day
1pm to 2pmcomplete the task given to me on that particular day

lunch 30 mins

2pm to 3pmcomplete the task given to me on that particular day
3pm to 4pmcomplete the task given to me on that particular day
4pm to 5pmcomplete the task given to me on that particular day
5pm to 6pmask if there is anything else need of me for the day and if it is complete the task given to me on that particular day. if it isnt, go home
6pm to 7pmdrive home
7pm to 8pmunwind after a long hectic day
8pm to 9pmunwind after a long hectic day
9pm to 10pmunwind after a long hectic day
10pm to 11pmsleep
11pm to 12amsleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Called to inform employer that i was interested in the position

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes – 1 interview where the employer asked me about my background

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
basic background questions

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not at all – I was kind of just thrown into the having to do whatever was thrown at me without any training or procedures

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
None

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Somewhat

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
To look for a lawyer that is competent and very organized

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
a lot of patience and organization

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Somewhat

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To have patience

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No – this was just an opportunity that happend to open up

What are your current career goals?
Real Estate Agent

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Bowie State universityN/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.