Bankruptcy Paralegal (Male, Age 23) in Brookline, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 23 who works as a Bankruptcy Paralegal in Brookline, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleBankruptcy Paralegal
Salary$21,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week32
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBrookline, MA
Years Experience9 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Our 5 person law office deals primarily with bankruptcy, personal injury and motor vehicle accidents. We also work on class action lawsuits and civil litigation.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My primary job responsibilities deal with bankruptcy law. However, at times, I may have to draft briefs, medical records requests, etc for our MVA and PI lawyer. Primarily I draft the bankruptcy petitions that are filed to court, I file the petitions along with all corresponding documents and I mainly work on Chapter 7 Bankruptcy. Additionally, I do general office duties such as answering telephones and scanning/copying docs.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
No benefits since I do not work 40 hours +

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
undercompensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I primarily work with the other paralegal along with both attorneys and our IT person on various issues.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCommute to Work
8am to 9amArrive at Work. Check emails from bankruptcy court and voicemails. Begin planning out the day. Speak with my boss and he will instruct me on what is important to pursue for the day.
9am to 10amMeeting with Client. New bankruptcy client meetings involve collecting documents pertaining to the client’s financial status. Additionally, we discuss fee and run a credit report for the client.
10am to 11amPreparing bankruptcy petition for client. Collect all documents needed to file with petition and send via internet to court. Once we receive notice that the court has received the documents, we notify client. Court will also appoint a trustee as well as schedule a day for the hearing to take place.
11am to 12pmOnce we receive notice from the court assigning a trustee to the case, we prepare evidence to be sent to the trustee prior to the hearing. The trustee needs to see the backup paperwork , therefore we need to prepare email as well as a packet to send to the trustee with all supporting documents.
12pm to 1pmScanning documents pertaining to bankruptcy cases, MVA and Personal Injury cases. Once we complete scanning, we log all documents scanned into our database and then send the documents for filing.
1pm to 2pmLunch.
2pm to 3pmOnce I return from lunch, I prepare all documents that need to be filed into stacks pertaining to each type of case, whether it be MVA, PI or Bankruptcy. Filing consists of putting the most recents docs at the top of the file.
3pm to 4pmMeeting with Attorney to discuss progress within the pending bankruptcy cases. I will have to present the cases I am currently working on to the attorney and let him know where each one stands. Additionally, I will have questions to ask the attorney regarding any cases where I do not have sufficient documents.
4pm to 5pmLeave Work
5pm to 6pmN/A
6pm to 7pmN/A
7pm to 8pmN/A
8pm to 9pmN/A
9pm to 10pmN/A
10pm to 11pmN/A
11pm to 12amN/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Craigslist

What was the application process?
Submitted resume via email along with cover letter

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
1 interview with a questionnaire which entailed different situations as well as questions pertaining to law.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Do not remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I feel very confident with my work skills.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Training involving the Bankruptcy Process as well as the Bankruptcy Software we use.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I have a degree in politics, laws and the courts.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get started within an office. Any type of office experience will help alot as well as getting your foot in the door at a law firm.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organization skills, technical skills, legal skills, personable skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Some College

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Have fun with it but do not get stressed out because it can become very overwhelming.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, because I want to eventually become a lawyer.

What are your current career goals?
Be a successful lawyer that helps resolve people’s problems.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
N/A

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Legal Secretary5 months$15.00/hourWorked part-time at Workers Compensation and Disability Law Office. general office duties as well as preparing documents.
Prior Job 2Legal Assistant8 months$12.00/hourWorked part-time at Real Estate Law Office. general office duties as well as preparing documents.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3Boston UniversityPolitics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.