Internet Help Desk Tech 

(Female, Age 32) from colorado springs, CO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Internet Help Desk Tech in colorado springs, CO. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Internet Help Desk Tech
Salary $17,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location colorado springs, CO
Years Experience 9 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Centurylink, a telecommunications company that provides internet and phone services

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I help customers troubleshoot and repair their internet connections, email issues, and I also report outages, and dispatches for on location repairs.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I wish I were paid more hrly

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I have co workers, I don;t mind working with others, and I love my customers.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home office, I work from home, and I really enjoy it

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Online search

What was the application process?
submitted resume and an online application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed over the phone, they asked my knowledge about the needed job skills, availability, and what kind of services I get through my cable company

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
available schedules

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I got to week paid training

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I grew up around computers and using the internet, so I guess I came with the knowledge that I needed for my job.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Call the job recruitment center

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Got computer and os skills as well as Internet knowledge

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
High School Graduate

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
You have to be really good with people

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I don’t know at this moment

What are your current career goals?
I want to do something in computers

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
this is a great job and it has many opportunities in advancement if you can handle it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 IT 9 8.5 Internet Help Desk Tech, TS customers pc/internet/email connections
Prior Job 2 Front Desk 8 months 8.5 I work the grave yard shift for the front desk counter, checking in/out guests, preparing audit/daily sales reports

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.