Office Manager (Female, Age 37) in Muskegon, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Office Manager in Muskegon, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$27,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMuskegon, MI
Years Experience9 1/2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I woukd for a small Property Management company we manage (on-site) a total of 216 units in 3 complexes. THere are only 2 of us in the office, so job titles really mean very little. We both do everything, from taking work orders to payroll.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Leasing apartments, paying bills, assigning prep work for apartments, taking work orders, paperwork for Section 8 tenants, deposits, processing rents and sendin out notices, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health (not much), short term disability, and some life insurance included

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated, but I do have an extremely flexable schedule.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
There are only 2 of us in the office, so it can get a little crazy when we get busy. We also have the maintenance, yard crew, painters and subcontractors in and out of the office on a regular basis. I like that if there is an emergency, I can just tell the other office person I need to leave and there will be no questions. As long as there is someone in the office, we are very flexable.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We have one office centrally located within the 3 complexes. It is in a good neighborhood, which I like and very close to home. I can go home for lunch every day!

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGet to work 7:15 to get systems running and debug whatever is necessary
8am to 9amCheck with other workers on what needs to be done that day
9am to 10amOpen office – a little bit of everything. Whatever comes in as well as lease, bills, etc.
10am to 11ama little bit of everything. Whatever comes in as well as lease, bills, etc.
11am to 12pma little bit of everything. Whatever comes in as well as lease, bills, etc.
12pm to 1pmLunch – I usually go home for lunch
1pm to 2pma little bit of everything. Whatever comes in as well as lease, bills, etc.
2pm to 3pma little bit of everything. Whatever comes in as well as lease, bills, etc.
3pm to 4pma little bit of everything. Whatever comes in as well as lease, bills, etc.
4pm to 5pma little bit of everything. Whatever comes in as well as lease, bills, etc. (Also clock watching – especially if it was a bad day!)
5pm to 6pmHome
6pm to 7pmErrands
7pm to 8pmErrands
8pm to 9pmHome
9pm to 10pmHome
10pm to 11pmSleep
11pm to 12amSleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Manpower temp service

What was the application process?
Manpower submitted apps that matched the compaines criteria

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. It was supposed to be several interviews with managers and owners, but I was hired after the first.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I do not remember. But, they did like that I lived close. THe last person lived out of town and was always calling in due to bad weather

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I’m not sure, but it wroked out

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
THere were a lot of programs I had not worked with before. The Vice PResident told me to simply play with the programs until I figured them out.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I am over educated for this job. I have a BS in Computer Integrated Design, but there were no jobs in my field without moving out of state. I could not do that due to family health reasons.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Send out reumes to the property management companies of their local complexes

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Ability to multi task!! Be very organized, good with people and computers.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You should be good with computers – most office tasks are computerized

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
If you can’t handle stress, and lots of it, STAY AWAY!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
NO I’m not sure how much longer it will be until the company is sold. THe owner is in his late 70’s and is retiring

What are your current career goals?
Keep working at at least the pay rate I am at now ( not easy around here)

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nothing that I can think of

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1ManyVariedIn our arrea no one hires straight off the street. You have to go through a temp agency. I had several long term jobs through them, but was not hired in several times due to downsizing, which happens frequently in my area
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.75

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Central MI UniBS Computer Integrated Manufacturing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.