Owner/ Operator (Female, Age 35) in richmond, KY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Owner/ Operator in richmond, KY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOwner/ Operator
Salary$75,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week98
Company Size(not answered)
Locationrichmond, KY
Years Experience8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work with my husband in the trucking industry, we haul specialized freight.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Driving, customer relations, keeping up with paperwork.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
zero

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes sometimes we have to deal with customers and I don’t mind it, alot of the customers we deal with a in the military, and they are great people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We work all over the country, we can be in florida one day and the next day we can be 1200 miles away. likes is – we get to see the country, dislikes – we have to deal with traffic.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes- A recruiter calls you and gets the info that they need.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Driving experience, driving record, employment history, credit report, background check.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes- I had 1 month hands on training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes I went to a community college for 10 weeks. Then I did 1 month hands on training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no, you can learn the book information but I got most of my traingin hands on.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You have to get a cdl first, second you would need 2 years over the road experience, you would also need to have a good driving record, a good back ground check, and be able to pass a government background check for a security clearance.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
you would need driving skills, you would also need to know about bookeeping, and general business skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes – you would need professional driving skills

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
don’t do it, now is not a good time to get into the trucking industry, and especially if you plan on starting up your own business, the rates that we get have done down, and if one would start now they would have to work more for less money.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes because you can make a living at it, if you do it the right way.

What are your current career goals?
To have more profit than the years before.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1driver1.5 years32000
Prior Job 2truckdriver, worked for a company as a company driver.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/ast.augustine fl community collegebusiness mang.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.