Staffing Supervisor/Branch Manager (Female, Age 35) in Hot Springs, AR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Staffing Supervisor/Branch Manager in Hot Springs, AR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Staffing Supervisor/Branch Manager
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location Hot Springs, AR
Years Experience 8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We have 5 locations in Arkansas. We are a staffing company that speacilizes in staffing for Industrial and Clerical positions. We have about 50 internal employees. And staff several large manufacturing companies

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
payroll, data entry, customer service, sales, marketing, all general clerical. Interview, hire, terminate, employees.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
104 hours vacation/PTO, Health and dental ins,

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
WELL

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with several different people. All ages. We are a very diverse company. I like this because i meet a lot of people and i feel i am helping them find work and this makes me feel good. This keeps the job from becoming repetitous

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office. like working alone. like to travel to other local manufacturing companies where we staff onsite

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Coomute to meeting out of town
8am to 9am meeting to discuss any issues- there were 3 Staffing Supervisors there and one person from our corporate office.this meeting was from 9am to 12pm
9am to 10am discussion: Workmans comp, PTO, Insurance, Processes, Interviewing,
10am to 11am
11am to 12pm
12pm to 1pm Had lunch
1pm to 2pm Interviewed 10 applicants. had applicant take a test, watch safety videos, and complete all paperwork
2pm to 3pm Checked references on said applicants for all previous work
3pm to 4pm Entered applicant information into system. filed folders and applications
4pm to 5pm made weekly calls to current and potential clients to ask if any had need for staff. documented all calls made. cleaned office bathroom, kitchen, lobby and vaccuumed.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
submit resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I completed an application and was interviewed twice. First interview was with an assistant manager, 2nd interview was with the manager

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
can not remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I have continued training throughout my 5 yrs here. I did not require training to start the position. Only clerical skills were needed

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
apply at any local staffing agency and possibly work some clerical short term assignments to show their skill level. Let the staffing company know they are interested in working for them

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good customer service skills, able to manage employees, get along well with others. Have patience and an open mind. Be willing to go above and beond for each individual

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
training

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be patient but also ask a lot of questions. alsways take notes. you must be willing to help people get work and you have to be open minded to all types of personalities

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i like my job and feel i am dedicated. the company is a great company

What are your current career goals?
to be certified as a staffing speacilist

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
it is is different everyday. This is why I like it

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Staffing Assistant 1yr 8.00 per hr data entry, answer phones, interview applicants
Prior Job 2 receptionist 4 yrs 8-10 per hr answer phones, invoice, payroll

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.