Machinist (Male, Age 31) in East Dubuque, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 31 who works as a Machinist in East Dubuque, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMachinist
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationEast Dubuque, IL
Years Experience8.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
There are about 40 employees running 2 shifts at the shop. We program machines to make parts out of plastics and metals. It is privately owned by 2 brothers. They work at the shop every weekday with first shift employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
read and interpret design drawings. program machines to make parts holding to certain specifications. maintain a safe and clean environment. operate machines after programming and quality control is established.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
partial insurance and dental premiums are paid. 11 days of vacation. 401k and profitsharing

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. like. I appreciate working with most of my coworkers. I like not having to work with the public very often.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
In an industrial setting. I like most of characteristics except the dirty air and loud machines

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral by a relative

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. simple questions asked by owner/boss.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked if I knew complicated math and if I could lift 50 lbs

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. helped to learn different programming and operating applications

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Learning what tools to use for specific applications. How to maintain and program the machines.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. The math background is useful in every program I write or part print that I design

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
tour a shop in progress and all responsibilities that it entails.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
math(calculus and trigonometry) Many equations are need to figure out programming codes and direction. eg: radius of circle, angles, triangles

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
take notes and be patient on learning and remembering all codes and equations.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is now. I’m good at what I do and can make a good salary for me and my family.

What are your current career goals?
to keep increasing my wages and saving for the future.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is not for the person who likes interacting with the public. Toleration of loud dirty environment is a must

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Machinist3 yrs.30000maching with same duties as stated in current job
Prior Job 2Machinist2.5 yrs.20000maching with same duies as stated in current job

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
UW-PlattevilleN/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.