New Home Consultant (Female, Age 44) in Elk Grove, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 44 who works as a New Home Consultant in Elk Grove, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNew Home Consultant
Salary$100,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week60
Company Size(not answered)
LocationElk Grove, CA
Years Experience8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is a local home builder. It employs about 100+ people

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Demonstrate and sell new homes. Coordinate with mortgage, construction supers, title and customers to make a smooth process of buying a home.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401K, health

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I definately deserve what I earn

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I work with many people. The clients, title, mortgage, construction, management and many more people. I love what I do.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a model and I love it. I am on-site and able to demonstrate the homes and the community.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 3
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amGot to the office at 9:30. Unlocked the models, made sure they were free of garbage, fluffed pillows, made sure they were perfect to be seen. Made a pot of coffee.
10am to 11amFollowed up with cutomers on what stage of construction their home is in. Toured some customers through the models.
11am to 12pmTalked to mortgage regarding some new clients and some that are close to closing escrow.
12pm to 1pmMet with construction regarding some clients concerns. Also got walk dates. Called the customers to confirm the dates. Scheduled appointments with title.
1pm to 2pmToured some customers through the models.
2pm to 3pmOne of my clients came in for their pre-sheetrock meeting. This is when they meet with my construction superintendent to go through the home before we sheet-rock the home to point out where wiring and such is.
3pm to 4pmToured more customers through the models. Loved the homes. Set an appointment for tomorrow to do a purchase agreement.
4pm to 5pmGot everything in order to do the purchase agreement tomorrow. A purchase agreement consists of many documents. Made copies and put it together. Made thank you notes to send to prospects that came in.
5pm to 6pmclosed the office…off to the home office for a sales meeting. Stopped at post office to send the thank you notes.
6pm to 7pmWeekly sales meeting to discuss new items and concerns. Picked up supplies I will need for the week.
7pm to 8pmPhone Bank. This is when we call prospective buyers to see if they have any further questions and would like to set an appointment to go over any other details.
8pm to 9pmGet to go home. Short day today!
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, an interview with the sales manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Are you flexable?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no. Did this prior to employment.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, went to school to prepare for the state exam.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Everything I have learned through the years has helped me. Computer skills, dealing with people.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
interned for only a couple weeks. I was lucky that my mentor was awesome.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to school. You need to obtain a state license to sell homes.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You should be social and love people. Computer skills are important.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be yourself. Truly care about the client. Be prepared to work a ton of hours.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, now that I have found what I love to do.

What are your current career goals?
I will continue to sell homes until I retire.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Just that I feel extremely lucky to have found the perfect fit my career.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1waitress2 years50000waitressed so I could go to school to get my real estate license
Prior Job 2sales2 years100000Sold health and nutritional products.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.