Assistant Vice President / Sr. Corporate Paralegal 

(Female, Age 28) from Los Angeles, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Assistant Vice President / Sr. Corporate Paralegal in Los Angeles, CA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant Vice President / Sr. Corporate Paralegal
Salary $78,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location Los Angeles, CA
Years Experience 8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
national chartered bank

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
New York Stock Exchange compliance, Securities Exchange Commission compliance, Corporate Governance, Mergers & Acquisition

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
transportation allowance, med/dental/vision coverage, employee discount on cellular phone services, movie tickets, softwares

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work directly with General Counsel and Sr. Counsel in the office. Frequent contacts with Board of Directors of the company. I enjoy working with senior management personnel in the company.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a high rise buidling, I do like my working location, I have a private office. The environment is very professional.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am Arrive to Office, check e-mails.
10am to 11am Start working on assigned projects
11am to 12pm working on assigned projects
12pm to 1pm lunch time
1pm to 2pm Meeting with IT deparment for an upcoming special project that I am in charge.
2pm to 3pm still in meeting with IT
3pm to 4pm back to my desk and respond to e-mails.
4pm to 5pm work on project
5pm to 6pm work on project and get ready to leave office.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Contacted by Recruiter

What was the application process?
sent resume to recruiter after initial contact

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, interview directly with the head of the department. Group interview with another counsel in the department. 1 phone interview with HR, 1 in-person interview, and 1 follow-up interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Interview was more like a discussion for me to understand the responsbility of the position and for the company to get to know me. It was not a Q&A type of interview.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
somewhat, because the employer was looking for an experience hire; therefore, I came with the knowledge which enables me to perform my duties.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, educational training, attended seminars to keep up with the new regulations/law.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
somewhat, did not study law at school.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
did not have internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Must feel absolutely comfortable working with senior management personnel, be able to communicate with others in a precise and clear manner. Must have great inter-personal skills

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Highly proficient in MS Office, excellent in organizational skills, be proactive, multi-tasking, able to meet deadline, able to work under minimal supervision, and be professional. These are the essentials skills for my line of work.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
while building great working experience, it is also important to keep one updated with current change in laws. Continuing education is a must.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, this is a good company to work with, steady growth year after year. I do not have to worry about job security while working here.

What are your current career goals?
perhaps going to law school one day and become an attorney.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Most high school students / college student do not know much about the career of being paralegal. I think it’s a great starting point for anyone who has an interest in Law, but is not sure if this is what they want. They can work as a paralegal for a few years and decide if they want to spend the big bucks to attend law school to become an attorney. Also great for someone who wants to become an attorney but is not able to do so due to financial reasons, great way to get the experience in law field while saving enough for school.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Corporate Paralegal 2 60000
Prior Job 2 Corporate Paralegal 5.5 50000

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Chapman University BA in Business Administration
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.