Electrical Engineer 

(Male, Age 30) from Manchester, NH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 30 who works as a Electrical Engineer in Manchester, NH. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Electrical Engineer
Salary $70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Manchester, NH
Years Experience 8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Tyco Electronics / Worldwide / 100000 + employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
RF Designer of Portable Radios

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health Dental 401K Stock Purchase

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I like it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office, cubicles, It is ok. I wish it had windowes that opened

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 7
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am coffee and email
8am to 9am email and meeting
9am to 10am meeting
10am to 11am worked on design
11am to 12pm worked on design
12pm to 1pm lunch
1pm to 2pm worked on design
2pm to 3pm worked on design
3pm to 4pm worked on design
4pm to 5pm worked on design
5pm to 6pm left for day
6pm to 7pm softball
7pm to 8pm softball
8pm to 9pm dinner
9pm to 10pm tv
10pm to 11pm sleep
11pm to 12am sleep

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
6 hour interview. It was brutal. many interviewers (6)

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
technical questions and personal interests

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, they teach me every day.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
basic training but mostly school

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes it was a must

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to school

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
work well on a team, be educated in the areas you need to work in.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
study hard

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?

What are your current career goals?
save for retirement

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 intern 1 year $10 / hour worked part time while in school
Prior Job 2 EE 8 years 70K RF Designer. Started as an intern for summer

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 Merrimack college BSEE
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.