Teacher (Female, Age 31) in Westford, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 31 who works as a Teacher in Westford, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher
Salary $62,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 60
Company Size (not answered)
Location Westford, MA
Years Experience 8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am a teacher in a Grades 3-5 school. There are approximately 400 students and 60 staff members.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I have a class of approximately 20 students that I teach all day long. I teach every subject to the students.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Retirement plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Depends on the day!

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with 20 students each day and also a variety of adults since I have an inclusion classroom. I love working with students and seeing what happens when something “clicks” with them. I dislike all the administrative duties I have that come with teaching

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Arrive at school by 7:15. School starts at 8:15. Prepare for the day’s events, check email, check voice mail, check in with partner teacher, provision for the day by getting materials ready for the day.
8am to 9am Greet students, get them started on the day, check agenda books, check for notes, take attendance and lunch count, work with students who need help.
9am to 10am Run morning meeting, teach math
10am to 11am Teach reading
11am to 12pm Teach writing
12pm to 1pm 40 minutes for lunch, check email, check mailbox and voicemail, eat, correct papers, get homework ready, do read aloud when kids come back in from lunch and recess
1pm to 2pm specialist (sometimes–only 4 times per week for 50 minutes).
2pm to 3pm Teach Science or Social Studies, organize, pack up, send kids home
3pm to 4pm clean up from the day, prepare for tomorrow
4pm to 5pm head home
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm correct papers
8pm to 9pm prepare future curriculum
9pm to 10pm plan for next week
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Job Fair

What was the application process?
Resume, application online, essay questions

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
This involved an initial interview at the job fair, then an interview in front of 10 people. Then I had to teach a sample lesson and finally meet with the superintendent of schools.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What is your teaching philosophy? What would be your ideal literacy program? What role does technology play in your teaching? What role do thematic units play in your teaching?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. My school district supports curricular initiatives and prepares all teachers for what curriculum they will be teaching.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes–continual professional development in all subject matter.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes–my undergrad and graduate degree provided me with the hows and whats to teach, but nothing prepares you better than having your own class.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to college and get an education degree. Then go get your Masters!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Communication, a sense of humor, ability to be creative and switch things up on a moments notice.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Get as much prepracticum experience as you can. Visit a variety of schools and grade levels so you can figure out what you really want to do.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I plan on being involved with teaching for the rest of my career.

What are your current career goals?
To become certified as a technology specialist.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love teaching. There are not always instant rewards so you have to really love it to remain in it!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Teacher Aide 2 years $12/hour
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.25 Merrimack College BS in Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4 Lesley University MEd.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.