Senior Marketing Manager (Female, Age 56) in Los Angeles, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 56 who works as a Senior Marketing Manager in Los Angeles, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSenior Marketing Manager
Salary$58,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLos Angeles, CA
Years Experience8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Alumni Association of a major university. There are approximately 45 full-time staff.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
բ__??? Develop and execute comprehensive and strategic long-range marketing plan for UCLA chapter and clubs worldwide, government and community relations, Bruin Woods and athletics messages to alumni.

բ__??? Conceptualize and design marketing techniques including print ads, email solicitations, website enhancements, and other methods, materials.

բ__??? Develop and execute a range of current and historical analyses including research, forecast and database assessment to assess the best way to engage alumni.

բ__??? Manage and track creative development, design projects and oversee production operations.

բ__??? Contribute to planning sessions regarding overall marketing and communication strategies and help ensure consistency quality control and broad integration of strategic marketing and creative development directions.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, 12 sick days a year, major medical, dental, vision, legal, 401K.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like my co-workers and I like that fact that my interactions with the alumni volunteers are in brief intervals. There’s no one I talk to on a daily basis. Sometimes I’ll have 15 different conversations in a day, sometimes I’ll work alone all day.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work with the rest of the communications team, a few project managers, campus partners and about 100’s of alumni network volunteers.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCheck office e-mail from home. Answer any urgent messages. This is because I work with people all across the county and worldwide, they may be in a different timezone. One aspect of my job is techincal related to our website so if I need to fix someone’s access, for instance, I’m not going to make them wait until I get to work.
8am to 9amCommuting.
9am to 10amCheck e-mail, return telephone messages. Call temp agency, put in a request for a web programmer, discuss technical needs. Give student worker # 1 assignments for the day. Go through outlook check where are all marketing projects are in relation to where they need to be. Check mail. Pay invoices. Put line items in the book (budget).
10am to 11amAttend all staff meeting. After that, meet with magazine staff. Pitch stories for edition 6 months out.
11am to 12pmMeet with different campus partner for project planning meeting. Discuss logistics, speakers, trouble shoot, problem solve, leave with action items.
12pm to 1pmGo to the gym take 45 minute spinning class, shower, go to grab some lunch to eat at desk.
1pm to 2pmWrite print and e-mail copy for a project(s). Check facts, names, locations, spelling. Give student # 2 assignments for the day. Throughout the day as long as I am at my desk I will be answering phone calls and e-mails from campus partners, volunteers and others as they come in. I don’t like these to pile up and they are usually very easy to process.
2pm to 3pmTalk to graphic designer about project, discuss look, layout, colors, audience.etc. Follow up with web designer about outstanding projects. Work on a delivery schedule. Iron out issues on project with project manager.
3pm to 4pmWork on a stinky project, this is some tedious thing I hate that I can only stand to mess with for 45 minutes or so at a time. For instance, I am working on a project where I have to decide which zip codes in California belong to what region so that I can redistrict the regions where our e-newsletter is delivered. The first step is to identify each zip code in each city, and then county. Then decide if, for instance the people in this zip code feel more of an Orange County affinity than the people one zip code over who might be more likely to be included in a different region. Ack.
4pm to 5pmTake a break, wander around for a few minutes chatting with co-workers. Take a frantic call from a campus partner because some vital something didn’t get to the vendor by a deadline and now it’s going to be late. Call the vendor, beg and plead, get the project back on track. Work on a marketing plan for a new project. Check students work. Add items to campus calendar.
5pm to 6pmCall 20 high level volunteers, invite them to participate in a volunteer opportunity. Schmooze each one, get by in, code in Excel. Debrief with supervisor about current projects.
6pm to 7pmLeave for home.
7pm to 8pmArrive home, check e-mail one more time, answer anything urgent. Call it a day.
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I applied for one job they offered me this instead. It was a random newspaper ad.

What was the application process?
Resume online through the official University website.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
There were three interviews. The first was with a director, someone else and the CFO who also handled human resources. The CFO suggested I meet with the marketing team, I met with that director, a writer, had a take home assigment to create a marketing plan, create ad’s and an e-mail solicitation. Finally, I met with the Executive Director.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember specifics. Typical questions no surprises.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No one feels properly prepared where I work. It’s the nature of the beast, I don’t know why. You’re thrown into the deep end and sink or swim. The people are nice, you go around asking questions trying to figure out who knows what about anything. You get a little info here a little there in about a year it all makes sense.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had some background. There was no formal training. I attend conferences once or twice a year, take classes, do what I can to stay ahead of the curve.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I had a strong knowledge base to reference.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Keep up with marketing trends. More importantly, be hard-working, flexible and people oriented.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You have to be able to “listen” through the clutter to “hear” what is reallyl being said. You have to have a sense of humor and be able to handle stress. There are always deadlines looming, you have to be able to take it all in stride and know you’ll be able to harness all of your resources and get the job done on time. Never, ever, burn a bridge, especially with vendors or co-workers because you will need them in the future.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
A marketing degree is ideal, but it’s more important to have an “eye” and an “ear.” Good judgement and instincts.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Organization is key because the nature of the job is chaos. There has to be a solid marketing plan in place with timelines, etc., in place. Nine times out of ten no one will meet your deadline and they won’t care, they still expect you to produce on time. They will change direction at the last minute and do it repeatedly. You have to be able to bend in the wind, don’t get married to an idea., but be able to control the madness and keep people on track. People often don’t know what they want or know, but can’t articulate it. You have to KNOW your customer, think and feel for them to get them a final result that pleases.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I don’t have a plan more than to stay with the University another 12 years and retire.

What are your current career goals?
I want to be the director of the department or move beyond my current position somehow. I’ve more or less slain all of the dragons, the job can be boring. I’m ready for a new challenge.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nah. thanks this was fun.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Property Department Coordinator15 years part-time, more some years than others45My husband was a Property Master for film and television. I ran his office from home mostly although I was on set on big extra days and to interface with vendors, directors, producers, Costume and Art Department heads; managed up to a $25,000+ per episode budget.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
San Diego State UniversityTheatre Arts/Speech Communication
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.