Business Manager (Female, Age 40) in Scituate, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Business Manager in Scituate, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleBusiness Manager
Salary$55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationScituate, MA
Years Experience8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
small c-corp providing technical support by contract to large financial companies

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
girl of all trades…accounting, HR, invoices, financial reporting to CFO, Office Manager etc

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
sep-ira, 3 weeks vacation, sick pay, HMO w/copay

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
doing ok

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Generally maintain client & worker contact through phone & internet. Wish company was larger for more interaction face to face

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home office…good & bad….miss coworkers

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amlogin to computer and check emails. Respond as necessary. check telephone messages…respond as necessary.
9am to 10amcontinue as 8-9am
10am to 11amcoffee break 1/2 hour. start checking time sheets & job requests to be filled.
11am to 12pmUpdate employee hours by job & time. Prepare invoices.
12pm to 1pmcheck incoming mail & prepare responses as necessary. Finish earlier correspondence to be mailed on lunch break
1pm to 2pmlunch. quick trip to post office..
2pm to 3pm2:30 back from lunch & post office. check email again to clear up remaining morning business & correspondences.
3pm to 4pmverify invoices sent & prepare bank deposits. Organize paperwork for tomorrow morning. Update quickbooks with business activites.
4pm to 5pmcontinue as above. 4:30 done for the day.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral from coworker previous job

What was the application process?
resume & phone calls…interview & background check

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. 2 interviews. one with business owner, second with some employees & owner.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. gave a braod overview of the posisition, but it has grown & expanded to include new duties as time has gone by. key was flex time as far as work hours

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
none offered at this company. I did take every training opportunity in other jobs to get as much software training as possible along with advanced excel online training through the prior company

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. business administration and entreuprenurial classes prepared me to handle a variety of challenges that i see every day.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
college. accounting classes & degree. be very organized

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
great organizational skills, able to work independantly. good computer skills especially accounting software. good time management skills…so days there is a lot of juggling to get things done. be flexible & able to drop something in the middle to deal with a crisis

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
minimum associates business degree with 4-5 years general office experience

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
look for a middle to large company with room for growth

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
just a stepping stone to acquire enough business savy to own my own business in the future

What are your current career goals?
own my own company & be aware of all the positions involved so I can truly understand the business & not rely on others to run it for me.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
small businesses can be very flexible & rewarding, but a mid to large size company may offer a better career path for someone younger

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Staff Accountant2yrs40000Staff accountant & HR for start up biotech.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.98quincybusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.