Auto Tech Ii 

(Male, Age 27) from WOODBRIDGE, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 27 who works as a Auto Tech Ii in WOODBRIDGE, VA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Auto Tech Ii
Salary $51,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Years Experience 8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Arlington County Equipment Bureau. This is a local gov’t agency and we repair and maintain the counties vehicle fleet.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Dia. and repair vehicle, perform safety and emissions inspections, perform preventive maintenance

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, flex spending, tool allowance, vacation sick leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work in a team with 4 other guys that are techs. I enjoy this greatly as I can go to them for help and they can come to me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Large warehouse/garage…I like the location as we have heating but dislike it due to no ac.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am NA
8am to 9am NA
9am to 10am NA
10am to 11am NA
11am to 12pm NA
12pm to 1pm NA
1pm to 2pm NA
2pm to 3pm NA
3pm to 4pm Start work and get work assignments
4pm to 5pm perform vehicle repairs and maintenance as needed
5pm to 6pm perform vehicle repairs and maintenance as needed
6pm to 7pm perform vehicle repairs and maintenance as needed
7pm to 8pm dinner
8pm to 9pm perform vehicle repairs and maintenance as needed
9pm to 10pm perform vehicle repairs and maintenance as needed
10pm to 11pm clean up and fill out paperwork as needed
11pm to 12am leave

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
turn in paper application and then interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had 11 interview with a panel of 5 people. I was asked a number of job related questions which we reviewed my answers too.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
All I remember is they were automotive related.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes/ i repaired vehicles in the military and had gone to school for the such.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
He should meet more than the bare requirements and be certified.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
He should have the work expericence as well as required licenses.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Read and take college courses in automotive repair

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes because I always wanted to work for the county.

What are your current career goals?
grow into management

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
NA university of phoenix b.a in bus. admin.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.