Teacher (Female, Age 37) in Atoka, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Teacher in Atoka, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher
Salary $48,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Atoka, TN
Years Experience 8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work at a small rural school about 15 miles East of Memphis. We are a PreK through 6 school with around 300 students.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach 15 first graders all subjects. I grade papers, manage classrooms, speak with parents, and tutor children.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
10 sick days, 2 personal, Cigna health insurance, delta dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated in pay

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
not with adults, only with children.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 8
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am 7:00-7:15 preparing my classroom for class, placing papers, setting up stations, turning on computers. 7:15-7:35 breakfast/ morning meeting/announcements school wide. I sit and listen to theprincipal lead the morning meeting and make announcements. 7:35-7:45 bathroom break
8am to 9am 7:45 – 8:30 Reading intervention time with struggling readers. This is a high level concentrated group for students who are struggling to read. 8:30 – 9:00 Carpet time. Skills are introduced and stories are read to the students.
9am to 10am Reading instructions in small groups. One group is with me, one group is at the comptuers, one group is at a work station, and one group is at a game/listening/manipulative station.
10am to 11am Reading groups continue until 10:30. I walk students to their special classes (gym, music, library, or computer). Then I go to lunch at 10:30 to 11:00.
11am to 12pm Planning time – grading papers, making copies, writing lesson plans, planning for the afternoon.
12pm to 1pm Planning until 12;30, Then I teach whole group math, science and social studies. Usually I sit at one of the tables, we read together and answer some questions or discuss. During math instruction, I teach at the overhead while students look at come up to answer one question.
1pm to 2pm Math, science, or social studies whole group instruction.
2pm to 3pm 2:00 to 2:15 students practice their writing skills. 2:20 bus dismissal, clean up, plan for next day, and go home at 2:45.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
word of mouth

What was the application process?
Submitted resume and application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. I interviewed first with the assistant superintendent and then with the principal of my school.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
not at first. She did not know how to teach underprivileged children well enough.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I received my master’s degree in elementary education. In addition I participate in 90+ hours of professional development in reading instruction a year at my school.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
somewhat

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes, my student teaching helped more than the school work.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
subsitute teach first, then go to college to get a teaching degree.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Patience-because sometimes the children will try your nerves.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Stick with it, the first 5 years are the roughest and it will get better.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
unknown

What are your current career goals?
teach until I’m 70 and retire satisfied, I hope.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Teacher 10 months 28000 Teaching
Prior Job 2 Teacher 10 months 27000 teaching 7th graders

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.9

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5 Univerisity of Memphis BS Biology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8 University of Memphis Elementary Education

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.