Nurse (Female, Age 38) in Jersey city, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Nurse in Jersey city, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNurse
Salary$46,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationJersey city, NJ
Years Experience8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
private facility

close to 75 staff members (excluding maintenance)

a clinic that provides care for people with low incomes.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I take care of patients.

provide them with medication and basic comfort.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks of vacation, 6 sick leave and private insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
NO

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes , all the time.

I like my job on most days.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
small facility

Not much room..everything is cramped.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amat home, preparing for work.

I usually take a shower, get dressed and have a coffee before leaving for work.

8am to 9amI dirve about 30 minutes to my work.

I am a nurse and my shift starts at 9:00 am.

I have a coffee, talk with some staff members, check my charts for the day and then at 9:00 am my shift as begun.

9am to 10amfirst floor. I check on the patients, verify if some needs something, talk to them about how the night before went and so on.

10am to 11amStill on the first floor.

I continue visiting each room and if no complication, i usually finish at 11:00 am.

11am to 12pmI bring medication to patients on my chart, verify who needs extra for lunch, talk to the doctors on my shift about anything related to the patients needs.
12pm to 1pmLunch until 1:00pm.

I usually take a nice walk outside, grab a coffee at starbucks and then go back at work..relax until 1:00 pm.

1pm to 2pmI sort out the medication shelves. Look for any possible mix-up in the meds. I talk to other nurses to see if everything is going ok and if help is needed elsewhere.
2pm to 3pmfirst floor (round 2)

I verify if all the meals have been picked up in each rooms. Talk to patients and verify if everything is going ok. I monitor them, give medication, bring them something they might need etc…

3pm to 4pmfirst floor (round 2)

I continue until 4:00 pm the first floor.

4pm to 5pmI talk to the doctors and update them if needed on some patients . I discuss also with other nurses before leaving what needs to be done on the first floor.

I prepare the meds in advance for the 6 o’clock medication because i finish at 5:00pm

5pm to 6pmMy day is done. I say goodbye to everybody and i go home
6pm to 7pmi relax, have another coffee, watch tv then prepare our meal.
7pm to 8pmwe all eat. I clean the house a little, do some laundry, talk on the phone with friends.
8pm to 9pmI put the kids to bed. read a story then after i cuddle with my husband.
9pm to 10pmBedtime..watch a little tv in the bedroom, sometimes i read a book, then go to bed.
10pm to 11pmsleeping
11pm to 12amsleeping

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
my mother

What was the application process?
gave my resume and they called me the week after for an interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Head nurse gave the interview.

I think we were 7 applying for the same position.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
dont really remember, been a long time.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes i was fully satisfied with the training i received.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was teamed up with another nurse for a month training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to school and get your degree.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
nurse degree

high school completed also is required.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Expect the unexpected.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes!

I would love to advance to intensive care one day.

What are your current career goals?
be accepted for a position in the intensive care unit.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
said pretty much all that i can think of.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1receptionist312$/hrsanswering phones. Booking appointments
Prior Job 2receptionist29$/hrsanswering phones. Booking appointments

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
jackson highnursing intensive care.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.