Personal Assistant (Female, Age 29) in Del Valle, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Personal Assistant in Del Valle, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Personal Assistant
Salary $38,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location Del Valle, TX
Years Experience 8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The company I have been employed by has been in business for over 20 years, started in Chicago, Illinois and branched out to Los Angeles, New York, Europe and Texas. Our main scope of business is promotions in the music/film industry. As well, we work with small non-profits enabling their primary needs and goals.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Main responsibilities are as follows; personal assisting, promotions/marketing, office administration, internet research, public speaking and various travel arrangements.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
All health benefits supplied; 2 weeks vacation/year, 1 week sick leave, Blue Cross/Blue Shield health insurance and retirement/401K offered

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Job position entails working in teams daily, which I strongly enjoy b/c much more is accomplished within a business while working positively in a team environment.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 8
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Craigslist.org

What was the application process?
I applied in person.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
The interview was a two-step process; first with the manager and individual I replaced and then the ownwers.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
All basic questios about my education, work history were asked. Also, my goals and attitude was assesed. I was asked if I had any questions as well; I asked many great questions.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do; a week long training occured.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
A few computer classes and one-on-one hands-on-training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes because I took the communication classes that prepared me well.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
First off, contact anyone in the field and set up a in-person meeting in order to asses whether or not this is a perfect job for you. As well, set a time in which you can work an entire work day in the field to see if you really fit. From there, send your resume out over the internet to as many sites as humanely possible.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
The most important skill will most definitely be STRONG people/communication skills. This is honestly important in each and every job out there in my opinion anyway. If your the shy type, you definitely need to blossom super fast or choose an alternate route.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Ofcourse, a college education, even 1 year is extremely important, because I feel it is extremely helpful to constantly be educated/skilled in many different fields in order to further your career development. Also, to branch off into higher positions and increase your salary consitently.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Start slow, but listen, listen and listen at all times to your emloyer and coworkers; try not to be too cocky at first and do not hesitate to ask a million questions. As well, be sure to be comfortable with change and not afraid to do things differently to suit the many needs of your employer.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes; I’d like to start a school of music soon one day

What are your current career goals?
To gather as many contacts in my feild in order to begin my plans for a small non-profit school of music

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Music is my life and it feels incredible to use a passion of mine to fill the open hearts of others in need.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Personal Assistant 8 years 25000 Public Relations, office administration, errand running and travel arrangements
Prior Job 2 Front Desk Associate 2 years 22000 Promotions, marketing and errand running

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.8 Southwest Texas State Communication Studies
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.