Teacher (Female, Age 28) in Richmond, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Teacher in Richmond, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTeacher
Salary$37,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRichmond, VA
Years Experience8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I would for a county school system.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am a third grade teacher.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
sick leave, personal days, health and dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I have to work with other teachers and students. I do like this.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGet to school, prepare for the day, copy papers, have bus duty in the multi-purpose room, pick up students at 7:45, collect homework.
8am to 9amTeach my students reading, do spelling groups, take students to their special for the day, use that time to grade papers and homework.
9am to 10amContinue to teach reading and work in groups.
10am to 11amFinish language arts and move into math.
11am to 12pmFinish math and go to lunch.
12pm to 1pmLunch and recess time.
1pm to 2pmRead aloud to my students while they get water. Do social studies and science.
2pm to 3pmDismissal is at 2:00 so after that I clean up the room, copy papers for the next day, finish checking papers and planning. Have a grade level meeting about the next week. Complete item analysis for our cumulative testing that we just did.
3pm to 4pmContinue meeting and working in my room. Leave when ready for the next day.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Job Fair

What was the application process?
Application, Resume, Referrals

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had an interview with central office, then I had to interview with individual school principals.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
A bunch about how you would deal with certain types of students or classrooms.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no. I think for teaching you just have to jump in to see what it is really like. Student teaching helped with this.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had four years of college in the education field.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, student teaching was the real experience and practice.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You would need to go to a teacher job fair.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You need to have good social skills, be flexible, able to have an organized and well structured classroom.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, at least a bachelor’s degree in Education

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
You have to love your job to do a good job. Really put a lot of energy into your work so that the kids will learn and enjoy learning.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes because that is what I went to college for.

What are your current career goals?
I would eventually like to get my master’s in reading or ESL.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Teacher – 3rd Grade8 years37000
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6Longwood CollegeBS Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.