Senior Administrative Assistant (Female, Age 32) in rochester, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Senior Administrative Assistant in rochester, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSenior Administrative Assistant
Salary$34,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationrochester, NY
Years Experience8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
national non-profit community development organization that provides funding for low income housing throughout the USA

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I upkeep the office and make sure it runs smoothly. I also am the personal assistant to the director of the upstate new york office.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, dental, vision, life insurance, 401k, 403b, pension, flexible spending

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Very under paid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes it does for the most part. I work alone about 40% of the time which I love.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI was still sleep
8am to 9amWake up, shower, and to work by 9am
9am to 10amI turned on my computer, fixed coffee for office, looked in my inbox for work, checked fax machine, checked phone messages.
10am to 11amWorked on a report about housing for my boss.
11am to 12pmChecked in on my favorite website and learned about this survey and now I am taking it.
12pm to 1pmit’s lunch time! I am going home!
1pm to 2pmHad a phone call for my boss. Took a message and informed caller that she would call them when she got back. Worked more on the housing report and drank coffee.
2pm to 3pmScheduled meeting with the Mayor. Made reservations for a lunch meeting later on in the week with some area school officials and watered my plants.
3pm to 4pmStarted monthly report to hand in to corporate. Answered a few phone calls which got tranferred to voice mail. Got a drink of water and ate a milky way. Finished up monthly report and submitted to corporate
4pm to 5pmStarting to wind down and started to surf the net and also checked email. Replied to several people in regards to work. Had questions regarding loan disbursements so I emailed them back and then shut down my computer and went home
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
temp agency

What was the application process?
paper application as well as resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with the temp agency

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember as I have been here for over 8 years

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes they did. I had everything I needed when I started the job. A desk, phone and an inbox of work.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. One of my first jobs was a receptionist and that was when I was 16 so I’ve pretty much always been in this type of position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Basically I worked temp agencies and this job was a temp to perm position. Temporary agencies worked best for me. Admins are basically hired on experience and I had about 7 years experience before I got hired for this job.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organizational, social, computer. Have to know your way around a computer and scheduling meetings. Must be VERY organized.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To take MS office classes. There are also administrative assistant classes. Perhaps business courses at the local college.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
For now it is. I have a family so I need something stable and this job is stable. I eventually want to get into renovating houses for a profit but not until my kids are in high school.

What are your current career goals?
To live by renovating houses and not working a 9 to 5 any longer.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no, it’s just a job. Not my life.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Admin325000Administrative assistant and receptionist
Prior Job 2Receptionist420000Front desk reception

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Daemen CollegeTravel & Tourism
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.