Child Care Worker (Female, Age 34) in Mayslanding, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Child Care Worker in Mayslanding, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleChild Care Worker
Salary$23,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMayslanding, NY
Years Experience8 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a childcare that has space for 50 children (ages 2-5). There are 15 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for the art portion of the childrens’ day. We do a different art project every day using various materials.. crayons, markers, colored pencils, playdough. We always have a theme. Themes change each week.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
There are no benefits.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I love my job. The kids are great and so are the other employees.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It is a preschool. It’s fun and cheery.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI arrive at 8am. Set up everything needed for the day.
8am to 9am8:30 the children come in. They have free play until 9.
9am to 10amAt 9 we do osome kind of exercise. We dance or we go outside. We do this untill 9:30. At 9:30 we seperate into groups by age. At 9:30 we do art.
10am to 11amArt ends at 10. At 10 we do music class. We do that until 11:30.
11am to 12pmAt 11:30 music ends. We do show and tel from 11:30-12.
12pm to 1pmAt 12 we have lunch. We get done at 12:45.
1pm to 2pmFrom 12:45-1:45 we have nap time. From 1:45-2:30 we have story time.
2pm to 3pmAt 2:30 we got outside again. We stay out until 3:15.
3pm to 4pmAt 3:15 we do another art project. This ends at 3:45.
4pm to 5pmFrom 3:45-4:30 we go over over our letters and numbers. At 4:30 parents start arriving to pick up their kids.
5pm to 6pmFrom 4:30 until 5 we have free play. We close at 5pm.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I was interviewed once by the owner. They did a background check on me. I was hired on a trial basis. Then they hired me after the trial.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What makes you feel like you would be a good addition to our school? Are you CPR certified? Would you let us do a background check? What experience do you have with children? What is you educational background?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, she covered everything I needed to know.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I went to school for 2 years for early childhood development. I received alot of training at college, as well as training at the preshool. It entailed what goes on daily at the school and how to handle various situations.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I learned alot in my 2 years of school. It prepared me for the job I have.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Look in the newspaper. That is the best way.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must be patient, love children, be creative, hopefully CPR certified. Must be willing to deal with children and their mishaps.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
a 2 yr degree is good.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Find a place that provides benefits!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I always wanted to work with kids.

What are your current career goals?
I’d like to open my own day care one day.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s alot of work.. and fun!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1phone sales1 year20000Sold different vacation plans.
Prior Job 2nanny1 year21000I was a nanny for a 3 year old boy.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
ACCCEarly Childhood Develpment
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.