Project Manager (Male, Age 36) in Chicago, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 36 who works as a Project Manager in Chicago, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Project Manager
Salary $110,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Chicago, IL
Years Experience 8.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Medium size firm (25-35 employees) Develop both commercial and residential property here in Chicago and throughout the MidWest

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
everything from concept to completion. I take the lead on projects and execute them

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
IRA, 401K, health, dental, 10 days vacation, travel

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
normal for the posistion

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like working with both new and exsisting clients- getting out of the office is essential to keeping my sanity

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am getting to the office, drinking coffee, reading the dailys
8am to 9am returning email, phone calls, and really focusing on the task at hand
9am to 10am usually this is the time we have morning meetings to keep everyone up to date throughout the office
10am to 11am more meetings- more phone work, setting up the afternoon and week ahead
11am to 12pm LUNCH !!!!!!
12pm to 1pm usually client visits so Im out of the office the rest of the day – keeping my blackberry at my side
1pm to 2pm client visits(meetings)
2pm to 3pm MEETING!
3pm to 4pm preparing to shut down- fed exing, ect.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend

What was the application process?
two interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
twice- once with the HR director, the other with the pres.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
its been 8yrs Im sure questions have changed- just be honest in your resume and sincere in your interview

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes- I worked hard and started small

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no- just hands on, learning from co-workers and having a boss as a “mentor” helped

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I went to a liberal arts college so I think that prepared me for most anything

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
didnt have one, but strongly recommend

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
intern with a real estate company- expect to work hard and ALWAYS keep your word

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
fast pased, ruthless, driven and creative

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
at least a BA, but I majored in Poly Sci so who knows

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
if you like it you will suceede, if not it will be a struggle

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I suppose- Im happy here and in the end, I think thats all that matters

What are your current career goals?
mantain my level of dedication to my industry and company

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I wouldnt change it for the world

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.