Manufacturing Training Program Engineer (Female, Age 24) in Norwood, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Manufacturing Training Program Engineer in Norwood, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleManufacturing Training Program Engineer
Salary$62,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week42
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNorwood, NY
Years Experience8 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for General Cable Corporation. We are the 3rd largest wire and cable manufacturer in the world. I work in the Franklin, MA facility on the production floor where we make cable for military applications (navy–submarines, army–tanks) and a large assortment of specialty electronics cables.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Provide support to manufacturing, work on continuous improvement projects to improve productivity and decrease costs. I also research customer returns for quality defects. Because I am in a post-college training program with my company, I have worked in Scheduling/Planning/Purchasing for 4 months, Process Engineering for 4 months, and will now work in Quality Control for 4 months. After Quality, I will be a supervisor.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
10 vacation days, 10 sick days, 3 personal days, a 3% match for my 401K, dental insurance through Aetna, and health insurance through Blue Cross Blue Shield.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
It is absolutely necessary that I work with people daily. I coordinate daily with process engineers, quality control operators, and attend many cross-functional meetings.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office setting but frequently find myself on the manufacturing floor. The Mfg floor can frequently be very loud, dirty, and stressful.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 3
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCommute to work from 7:20-8
8am to 9am8-8:30 Check Email and Confirm meetings

8:30-9:30 Materials Review Board meeting. This has the Quality Manger, Manufacturing Manger, Plant Manager, Materials Manager, 3 process engineers, the manufacturing supervisor, sales, and design engineering. We meet to disucss customer returns, diposition questionable or rejected material, or talk about holdups in design engineering. Any issue that involves material in the plant belongs in this meeting.

9am to 10am9:30-10 Follow up on MRB findings. This can be, for instance, the supervisor said that he found contaminated material on the floor. The material was recently brought into the plant by me for a project I am working on. I would walk out to the manufacturing floor and confirm material contamination.
10am to 11am10-11 Make list of project “next steps” and begin doing them. Sometimes this list will actually take several days to fully complete, but in the best case, I could finish it in 1 day.
11am to 12pmWork on Project—whatever my continuous improvement project is. For instance, my current project is on consolidating inventory. Earlier, I was alerted that the inventory was contaminated. I found that it was,
12pm to 1pmLunch. I like to eat with some other lady coworkers in the company kitchen. Lots of people come in and out preparing their food so it is an opportunity to socialize.
1pm to 2pmWork with coworkers on their projects. As a new process engineer, I would pop up and ask the others what they were working on. They would explain what they were doing, and if it involved equipment capabilities, they would train me.
2pm to 3pmIf necessary, host meeting on my project “hold ups”. Develop new list of action items for my team to help with.
3pm to 4pmAfter working on my list of action items for my team, I would run it by members of me team. My team involved a design engineer, process engineer, two extrusion operators (extrusion being an operation in our facility), and a purchasing worker. The design engineer works in a department particularly resistant to change. I found that I frequently need to spend more time with him clarifying ideas and making sure any change we institute is precisely the right thing to do.
4pm to 5pmComputer/Desk work for detailing project findings and advancements. This normally involves Excel. In my inventory standardization project, I developed a Savings spreadsheet that showed savings by cost, reduction of total part numbers, and weight of inventory.
5pm to 6pmcommute home from work in the horrendous Boston traffic.
6pm to 7pmgym, dinner.
7pm to 8pmtechnical reading for work. I have recently read “Lean Thinking: How to Banish Waste and Create Wealth in Your Corporation”, “The Goal”, and “Leadership and the 1 Minute Manager.”
8pm to 9pmpersonal time
9pm to 10pmpersonal time
10pm to 11pmsleep
11pm to 12amsleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
The company came to recruit at the Mississippi State University Career Fair.

What was the application process?
Submitted Resume, On Campus interview, 2nd interview with company vice presidents at the corporate office, 1st Offer–then a Personality test, Drug Test, Management Potential Test.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
On Campus interview with a head hunter, 2nd interview with company vice presidents at the corporate office (4 separate interviews, each with 2 people interviewing).

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked situational questions such as “What would you do if, on a Friday before a long vacation, you had to make a shipment. You are not allowed to ship without contacting the customer to confirm there is room in their warehouse. Your employees have been unable to contact the customer all day, and they want to leave to begin their vacation. Several men have flights to catch. You need to have them here to load the truck when it arrives. What do you do? Do you ship without customer approval, or make your employees stay until you can get him on the phone?”

They also asked where I saw myself in 5 years, 10 years.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No–but I feel I was prepared before taking the job through prior work experiences.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I went to a 3 day orientation on company policies, but was not trained in technical aspects of my job.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, absolutely. I worked in 2 internship/co-ops during college which exposed me to manufacturing, working with operators and supervisors, and trained me in project management.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes–see previous answer please!

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Finish college with a GPA above 3.0 and work on networking within the industry. I would also focus more on work experience (do a co-op or internship) instead of grades. I would recommend that because when you interview for a business as a recent graduate, the company is interested in what YOU can offer THEM. I believe this is easier in an interview if you have projects or experiences in the workplace that you can explain while talking about engineering concepts they support.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills–be able to joke/laugh with coworkers. Most people are stressed in their job and are more willing to work with you if you aren’t all business.

Technical skills–if you know what you are doing you need less help and less training.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Effort means everything. Do not give up or become discouraged at a few small setbacks. Be ambitious.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I am in my first year as an engineer and I am gaining valuable manufacturing experience. I am very ambitious and am not afraid to ask questions in the workplace if there is something I do not know. I hope to advance to top management within 10 years. I need to learn how the plant runs and what are the most important obstacles they are faced with. This will help me support my managers in the plant when I am a vice president of the company.

What are your current career goals?
I will be a plant manager in 10 years or less. I hope to accomplish this by becoming a supervisor in 4 months (which I have already accepted the position for). I think I will work as a supervisor for 3 years. At that point, I would like to be promoted to Manufacturing Manager or Quality Manager. I will work there for 5-6 years, gaining proficiency in finance and operations. I feel I will then be capable enough to be considered as a plant manager.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
N/A.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Engineering Intern4 months10000I worked on one piece of equipment, optimizing it for the factory prior to a production launch. I also wrote and programmed several test programs ns, for the company.
Prior Job 2Engineering Intern1 year16000I worked 3 rotations on continuous improvement projects. I would rotate this job with school for a semester until my 3 rotations were complete. I worked at BorgWarner on a product launch for Ford Motor Company.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.02Mississippi State UniversityIndustrial Systems Engineer Bachelor of Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.