Marketing Assistant (Female, Age 23) in Woodbridge, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Marketing Assistant in Woodbridge, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMarketing Assistant
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWoodbridge, VA
Years Experience8 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small engineering/design firm. We currently have 4 engineers in the office, a project manager, VP and director of business development. We employ about 15 others who are based at our job sites around the world.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for marketing campaigns, meet and greets and anything related to the business development manager’s needs.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vacation (sick leave is included), HMO health insurance provided at $2/week cost for me, 401k matched to the first 6%

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Average

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work in an office environment that houses about 100 people. (Our company has a parent company) While I dislike the cube environment, the people I work with are great and it is a very friendly and collaborative environment.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: -1
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amGet into work. Check e-mail and phone messages. Figure out what tasks are the most pertinent and make a to-do list for the day
10am to 11amMeeting with the web designers for our new website. Figure out what is working and what is not. Tell obnoxious marketing lady to mind her own business and that we’ve “got this”.
11am to 12pmLunch with clients to boost ARC-Flash Study Sales.
12pm to 1pmLunch- then work on new company business plan
1pm to 2pmReturn to office, return e-mails. Work on expense reports from upper management business trips, sit in on brief meeting about flex time scheduling.
2pm to 3pmBook travel overseas to job for new hires. Prepare paperwork and coordinate flight times so that they all arrive into Dulles at the same time.
3pm to 4pmWork on billing for other companies for work performed by our people this month. Compare expenses to reports turned in. Book travel home for sick worker.
4pm to 5pmWrap up the day by making a list of things to accomplish tomorrow, and make copies of powerpoint for morning meetings.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Temp Agency

What was the application process?
Met with temp agency, they sent over resume, phone screen, 2 interviews at actual job site

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Met with temp agency, they sent over resume, phone screen, 2 interviews at actual job site

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
The usual: what I liked and disliked about my previous job, my strengths and weaknesses, etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, but in a field like this where I am essentially responsible for the day-to-day operations of a small corporation it is kind of the ‘sink and swim’ mode.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Sort of. I followed the girl who was before me around for a week.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I believe that college prepared me for the fact that hard work essentially trumps any natural ability and that you have to work for what you get.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I went through a temp agency for a temp-to-hire position. However, most positions like this are great because they are a stepping stone to bigger and better marketing positions. A degree is almost ALWAYS required.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You definitely have to be a people person, as you are working essentially in sales. Also, you need to be extremely detail oriented as “marketing assistant” can be a catch all for attending meetings, picking up people in the lobby, filling out expense reports, etc.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
A degree definitely helps

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To hang in there! This job can be anything from incredibly mundane to extremely rewarding. A lot of times in the engineering fields, the engineers are a little bit socially awkward. It is hard sometimes for “people persons” to not take this personally.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
This place is an excellent stepping stone in both experience and upward mobility.

What are your current career goals?
To find a career that challenges and fulfills. I don’t think this cube is my lot in life, but I’m learning a lot more about myself and my skills that I’m sure will one day make me more appreciative of where I’m going.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Account Executive6 monthsstraight commissionWorked as advertising executive for small town newspaper. Responsible for contracts, cold calling, etc
Prior Job 2Server4 yearstipsServer at well-known chain restaurant through college. Responsible for customer service and reconciliation of bank. Was also a trainer of new hires.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.84High Point UniversityCommunications, BA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.