Receptionist (Female, Age 23) in Chapel Hill, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Receptionist in Chapel Hill, NC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleReceptionist
Salary$27,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationChapel Hill, NC
Years Experience8 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Non-profit healthcare organization, about 75 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Answer the information line, event planning, meeting/travel arrangements, community relations (speakers, events, etc.), organization supplies

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
403b, 2 weeks vacation, sick leave incrued every month, BCBS health insurance, Metlife dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I like working with others. It’s very important to me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amN/A
8am to 9amCheck emails from co-workers or public and respond. Check any faxes and mail.
9am to 10amPlan for the day, organize, start database updates. There are about 3-4 databases I work on at a time, some are confidential.
10am to 11amContinue phone calls (information line), update medical charts for staff members, order and distribute supplies, meeting planning (staff meetings, updates).
11am to 12pmLunch!
12pm to 1pmOngoing phone calls (staff and info line), meeting arrangements, lunch ordering from various vendors.
1pm to 2pmSend mail (USPS, UPS, Fed Ex), purchase orders (fill out and send to Accounting Office), call for schedules (doctors and staff), send schedules out to everyone in the organization.
2pm to 3pmMail supplies for events at schools and churches. Sometimes I send supplies to volunteers that work outside of the organization.
3pm to 4pmDatabases finish up for the day, close down, catch up on random tasks asigned throughout the day.
4pm to 5pmClose up, finish everything up and store it, clean up. Go home.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Employement agency

What was the application process?
resume, interview, application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes.2 interviews, one with my supervisor and one with the vice president.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why I want to work here? Past experience and how it relates to current requirements?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Hardly, the lady in my position got promoted so she showed me the basics.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
A little maybe.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Apply as much as possible and go to a temp-agency and tell them what you want to do. Do not settle for just anything.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social, organization, computer, technical, planning skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No, but I have a college degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Give 110 percent and you’ll do fine!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Maybe, if I can move up in this department.

What are your current career goals?
To be a professor.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I’m satisfied!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Research Fellow4 months4000Research Fellowship abroad.
Prior Job 2Salesperson10 months17500Sold clothing, customer service

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
UNC- Chapel HillInternational Studies and French
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.