Director Of Public Relations/Environmental Communications (Female, Age 35) in gary, IN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Director Of Public Relations/Environmental Communications in gary, IN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDirector Of Public Relations/Environmental Communications
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week25
Company Size(not answered)
Locationgary, IN
Years Experience8 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a escrap recycling company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My job is to handle all small business locally who contract out company.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I am employed part-time so i don’t have health benefits, i get holiday, vacation and personal pay.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am very well compensated for a part-time worker.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I love my job and most of my interaction with others is either by phone, electronic or in-person appointments. so i am never caught off guard and always prepared for them.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amI arrive to work @ 8am and check my e-mail and the presidents e-mail. next i xheck my voice-mail and plan my day to return messages and calls.
9am to 10ami am usually still returning message and handling calls as they come in.
10am to 11ami am handling deliveries and drop offs to the warehouse, we are a central drop-off point for the county to recycle escrap.
11am to 12pmif i have any outside appointments i do then now. otherwise i am finalizing my calls.
12pm to 1pmi am wrapping up my day as i leave at 1pm.
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
submit a resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I did interview witht he president of the company and I was offered the job on the spot.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Mostly about my experience and schooling.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was mostly perpared when i got here.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. I volunteered over the years at various non-profit organizations and I have had years of experience.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, that along with years of experience.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I got my job from a university website, they were looking for someone who had a degree.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You need to have done some volunteer experience or actually worked in an industry that preserves the environment. as well as schooling in marketing and p/r.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, both experience and schooling.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Volunteer and take environmental courses in school as a BS.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it is. This job will be a shiner on my resume.

What are your current career goals?
I plan to stay witht his company as long as I can and when i have to move on I will take this experience with me.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I actually like getting up and coming to work everyday—most people can’t say that.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Case Administrator of DOL350000Basically the same thing except I worked with large businesses.
Prior Job 2PR535000P/r for the county in producing a safe work for county employees.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Tulane UniversityEnvironmental PR, BS
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/an/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.