Office Assistant (Female, Age 23) in Blacksburg, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Office Assistant in Blacksburg, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Assistant
Salary$12,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week28
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBlacksburg, NY
Years Experience8 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Virginia Tech is a large public university and I work for a professor in the field of Chemistry

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
build websites, organize information, make up powerpoints

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I mainly work on my own but I do interact daily with two other ladies who work in the office. I like the setup

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I sometimes work at home but usually work in the office of my boss. I like the flexiblity

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 1
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work at 7:45. Turn on computer and get everything situated.
8am to 9amWalk around campus putting up flyers for upcoming conference that my boss is hosting. The campus is rather large so it takes awhile.
9am to 10amDraw up powerpoint slides for a talk my boss is giving. Show him the slides and discuss how they compare to what he had in mind. Make changes. Show him the slides again
10am to 11amemail professors for mailing address for a huge conference happening in 2 years, add their responses to extensive mailing list spreadsheet
11am to 12pmResearch publications needed for my boss to draw up a proposal for more money for research. Download selected publications and save them. Print out the first pages to show my boss
12pm to 1pmTalk about the publications I found with my boss and see what direction to go in. Continue researching.
1pm to 2pmGo home, done for the day.
2pm to 3pmno work
3pm to 4pmno work
4pm to 5pmno work
5pm to 6pmno work
6pm to 7pmno work
7pm to 8pmno work
8pm to 9pmno work
9pm to 10pmno work
10pm to 11pmno work
11pm to 12amno work

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My husband is a grad student under my boss

What was the application process?
submitted resume in person, interviewed

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Sortof, one interview one-on-one and then I started. My job performance was basically my interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Where do you see yourself in ten years?

What are you wanting to get out of this job?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Sure, but it’s kind of a learn as you go job

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I wouldn’t really know what to tell them because I kind of went for this job because I couldn’t find any others but turned out to really like it

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be very organized, confident, fast learner and self learner

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I don’t really think so but I think a college degree does help

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Come up with your own ideas to suggest

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, but I don’t have much of a career plan for myself

What are your current career goals?

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6UNC-Chapel HillDental Hygiene
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.