Cashier (Female, Age 24) in Leander, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Cashier in Leander, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCashier
Salary$9,600
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLeander, TX
Years Experience8 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Family Dollar- chain of discount stores around the country

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
give friendly customer service, ring up merchandise, bag merchandise, accept payments, give customers change and receipt, clean, recover store

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with others on a daily basis, but it doesn’t really affect me because I work well by myself or in a team.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work inside a store, and Ither is nothing I dislike about it

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
electronic application and an assessment

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes I was interviewed once by the manager and waited for a call back

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
questions about previous jobs, and had to take drug test

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I think she did a great job

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, trained on how to work the register, all the basics, and how to recover the store

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
in a way yes, but just the basic math

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Fill out an application, and pay close attention to what you put on it. At the end you will be asked to do an assessment. Do not just put any answer on the questions or you will fail the assessment and not be considered.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
friendly attitude, great customer service, counting, common sense. You will be working with customers all day and some of them are not always nice and you will be counting all day

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no just have to know how to count

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
pay attention to what you are doing, don’t be slow- customers hate that

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no, Im not really too sure

What are your current career goals?
To keep a roof over my family’s head by any means necessary

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Cashier7 months7.25/hrtake orders, accept payments, make drinks, hand out orders, clean
Prior Job 2Warehouse crew member3 yrs7.25/hrpull orders, price, separate merchandise, all other warehouse duties, clean

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.