Contractor Sales Associate 

(Female, Age 41) from montgomery, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Contractor Sales Associate in montgomery, TX. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Contractor Sales Associate
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location montgomery, TX
Years Experience 8.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
This is an home improvement warehouse which has items such as lumber, bldg materials, hardware, plumbing, kitchen & bath, paint, electrical, garden, millwork. Everything you can build your home with. There are 200 people employed in our store. We have stores nationwide even china & canada & hawaii. We are very well know for our customer service

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
retail sales….building quotes on different items in our store also special order items, answering questions about different types of items we carry in our store, handling money on a daily basis, customer service to all customers, answering telephones & giving customer service to them.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
80 hours of vacation, 4 hours of sick time every pay period, 401k, retirment benefits, medical, dental, vision.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
a little underpaid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am arrived at work…logged into my computer & checked to see if I have any messages. If not then check with my dept. head to see what is going on for the day.
8am to 9am talked with him to see what is going on. also answer telephones and go through my quotes and follow up with my customers.
9am to 10am follow up with my quotes that I didnt finish on friday & call those customers.

take a break at 9:15 to 9:30am. answering phones, getting with the lumber dept & having them pull customers orders that have been paid for & ready to be picked up.

10am to 11am answering phones & giving prices over phone. building quotes over the phone. building quotes with customers in the store
11am to 12pm 11:30 to 12:30 lunch break
12pm to 1pm 12:45 return back to the pro desk & finish up with certain orders I was working on before going to lunch. answering phones, cashiering, customer service with customers.
1pm to 2pm working on quotes, answering phones & helping customer in the store also.
2pm to 3pm working on quotes, answsring phones & helping customers. take an afternoon break 2:45 to 3pm.
3pm to 4pm finish up with quotes I have been working on since lunch time. calling customers before my shift ends. following up with open quotes that are mine in the system. making sure there are no notes in system before I go home.
4pm to 5pm clock out at 4pm for the day
5pm to 6pm n/a
6pm to 7pm n/a
7pm to 8pm n/a
8pm to 9pm n/a
9pm to 10pm n/a
10pm to 11pm n/a
11pm to 12am n/a

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.