(Male, Age 34) from Chicago, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 34 who works as a CPA in Chicago, IL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title CPA
Salary $125,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Chicago, IL
Years Experience 7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Wide ranging, mainly accounting duties

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Christmas bonus

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others everyday and DO enjoy it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 7

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
started at the bottom (friend)

What was the application process?
resume, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
two interviews, drug testing,

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
the basics- what can you do for this company- what can you bring

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
not really

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
college (courses)- training on the job

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
absolutly, i took the required course to become a CPA

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
study hard in college and get lucky

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
math, patience, communication

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be professional, hard working, and willing to go extra mile

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes- I like it

What are your current career goals?
be the boos!!!!

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.