Travel Writer (Female, Age 34) in LEES SUMMIT, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Travel Writer in LEES SUMMIT, MO. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTravel Writer
Salary$126,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLEES SUMMIT, MO
Years Experience7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am currently self-employed and only work on a contract basis to various publications.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I travel to various parts of the world and review hotels, cultures and at times provide services as a guide.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Free travel

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I’m always working with others whether it be another guide or locals. I love it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I’m either in the field or working at home. I love the flexibility.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 7
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amWriting a detailed chart as to what needs to be accomplished today. A to-do list of sorts.
10am to 11amSit down to start writing from my notes in regards to last trip.
11am to 12pmWriting a review of a hotel in Senegal. Focusing on the staff and their courtesy.
12pm to 1pmWriting a review of a hotel in Senegal. Focus on the grounds and pro/cons of hotel locations.
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pmWriting a review of a hotel in Senegal. Focus on things to do in the area – restaurants, shops.
3pm to 4pmWriting a review of a hotel in Senegal. Focus on people of Senegal and experiences. Wrap up summary of hotel and be sure to include specific details on rates, contacts, etc.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
na

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No. Most of my work is done by word of mouth and referrals.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
NA

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Most often not. I’m on my own usually.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I took writing courses in college but that’s as far as my training goes.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Master’s in Psy helps me interact with different cultures.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start traveling on their own at first. Make contacts in various locales and put out the word what exactly you’re wanting to do (ie. writing, guiding, etc.).

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills. Tolerance of others unlike you. Organizational skills as you’re constantly on the go. Apathy.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
It helps if you’ve had the socialization of college, etc.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be flexible and open-minded about different places. Know that what you see in the media is most often what the place is really like.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I don’t really have a career plan.

What are your current career goals?
Have fun and keep on keepin on.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Travel travel travel. See the world. And make money doing it. It’s a dream.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1CFO7 years123000Head of all financial depts within organization.
Prior Job 2NANANANA

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7Boston UPsy
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.5KUPsy MA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.