Project Manager (Female, Age 32) in Plymouth, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Project Manager in Plymouth, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleProject Manager
Salary$86,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPlymouth, MI
Years Experience7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the largest IT company world as a Project Manager. There are approximately 310,000 employees world-wide.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
On my current projects, I manage deferred revenue for acquisitions. Basically, it’s bringing in the acquired company’s deferred revenue into our accounting and finance systems.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401K, Pension (soon to expire in 2008), Dependant Care Spending Plans, Health Care Beneifts, Dental Benefits, Eyeglass Benefits, Healthcare Spending Plans, Employee Stock Purchase Plan, Health Rebate

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well-compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
This assignment is a work-at-home situation and requires many phone calls / e-mails and instant messaging with others world-wide on a daily basis. I really like working this way, but I would also like to meet them in person as well.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My home office is currently my kitchen table while our house is undergoing massive renovations.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A recruiter found my resume on the internet.

What was the application process?
I honestly can’t remember… I must have submitted my resume online and filled out an electronic application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I interviewed with a technical person and then with a manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, I actually ended up a different job than what I interviewed for. However, it built my leadership skills and shaped my role towards more leading and managing projects.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I’ve taken a number of Project Management classes through my employer.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. IBM prides itself on having a well-educated workforce. I applied a lot of use case modeling techniques from my undergraduate and graduate degrees on a very high-profile project. I had the first module that caused difficulties with the previous team and client and eventually built back the trust in our team and IBM to do the job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to college and not only learn from your professors who are more than likely consultants in the “real IT world” but you need to enjoy it. You have to be able to speak clearly and concisely … Always be able to back up what you say!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Great organisation skills and the ability to connect with people helps when a difficult situation arises. Technical skills are very useful and come in handy when you are at an entry-level point of your career. You can always fall back on it when you move into a Project Management position or higher.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be enthusiastic and open to your manager(s) / team leads / peers. That really helps!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I want to learn as much as I can from every aspect of my current employer.

What are your current career goals?
To become PMP certified and then certified within my company’s PM Center of Excellence.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nope!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Consultant1 year42000I worked on a variety of projects from ensuring Y2K compliance for one of the company’s largest accounts to documenting requirements and use cases for a large local municipaliy’s tax system and a local insurance firm.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Eastern Michigan UnivesityComputer Information Systems
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
Eastern Michigan UnivesityComputer Information Systems

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.