Assistant Project Director 

(Female, Age 40) from phila, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Assistant Project Director in phila, PA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant Project Director
Salary 60000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location phila, PA
Years Experience 7 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i work for a major university in philadelphia. there are over 5000 person employed by this organization in the USA alone

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
i oversee the daily operations of a child welfare research project

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 wks vacation, 12 sick days, 3 personal days as well as 403b retirement plan,

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes i work with others on a daily basis and most days that’s okay with me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
because me projects focuses on curriculum development it is important to have collaborative work sharing.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am preparing for work, nursing baby, fixing breakfast, pumping milk, ironing clothes, check email from palm pilot to see if there are any emergencies for the day
8am to 9am arrived at the office 8:45 am; logged into computer, began checking email
9am to 10am working on curriculum for child welfare trainings to provider agencies
10am to 11am break from 10:15 – 10:30 am; continue working on curriculum in an effort to meet deadline for binding
11am to 12pm answering calls from providers in reference to training and project meetings
12pm to 1pm lunch 12 pm – 1 pm
1pm to 2pm returning phone calls to provider agencies in reference to training and registration request; coordinating final details for an offsite training of providers to ensure that all equippment is in place, and training room will accomodate session.
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume and applied for position electronically

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, i interviewed with the project director and provided a writing sample

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
skills, prior experience in the field and specific topic knowledge and experience

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, but i was comfortable because my education was prepartion for the basic functions of the job

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no there was no formal training but my education prepared me for the position for the most part.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
absolutely

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
some what but not as much as my classroom experiences

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
earn a degree in social work and or be sure to excercise effective decision making skills and abilities.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
communication skills, problem solving and decision making skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be sure to have confidence in your own abilities

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
in part yes

What are your current career goals?
to become a full-time homeschooling parent and to create a teen drop-in center

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
i love working with adolescent and youth

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 assistant director 3 years 52500 manange the daily operations of a child welfare research project
Prior Job 2 project coordinator 4 years 46500 coordinator and monitor and training component of a child welfare research project.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.48 temple university social work
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.65 temple university social work management and planning

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.