Controller (Female, Age 36) in Carlsbad, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 36 who works as a Controller in Carlsbad, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleController
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCarlsbad, CA
Years Experience7 Years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Custom Home Builder – Under 25 Employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Handle the General Ledger, Cash Functions, Customer Billings, Financial Statements, Payroll, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical, Flexible Spending Accounts, Dental, 401K with company matching

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work in a small office with 7 employees, and I enjoy my co-workers very much, this is a big part of why I like coming into work everyday. They are like my second family

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 2
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
It was a referral so I had to come in and meet all accounting staff for a group interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. It was a group interview in a lunch setting.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Can I work well with others. Can I be flexible.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I worked in public accounting, which meant I dealt with several clients in many industries, this experiance helped me get ready for this job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
talk to people inside the company. Small companies tend to hire by personal referals.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good communication skills and ability to get along with all levels of employees from Owner/President to entry level. In a small company everyone must work as a team.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t be afraid to wear many hats. I am highly educated, college graduate, CPA, but I still answer the phone when needed, open mail etc. I don’t treat myself like I am too good to do anything.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is, because of the flexibility of my hours and the real enjoyment of working with my coworkers. I also like the industry I am in, it is really fulfulling to watch a house being built from scratch.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goals are to stay with my company but to take on additional responsibilities.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Like many women I struggle with the family work balance. I feel blessed that my company understands this and works with me. I do enjoy my work and I do enjoy my family. I can’t imagine just having to choose one or the other.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Senior Accountant1 year55000Was a Senior Accountant in the Real Estate Dept. Was responsible for audits of many clients.
Prior Job 2Senior Accountant2 Years55000Was a Senior Accountant in the Real Estate Dept. Was responsible for client audits. Left this job due to family relocation.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Queens CollegeBachelor of Arts – Accounting and Information Systems
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.