Office Manager / Accountant (Female, Age 30) in MCMINNVILLE, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Office Manager / Accountant in MCMINNVILLE, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager / Accountant
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMCMINNVILLE, TN
Years Experience7 YEARS

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
NURSERY(WHOLESALE GROWER OF TREES / COMMERCIAL & RESIDENTAL LANDSCAPING)20-50 PERSONS DEPENDING ON SEASON OF YEAR

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
PHONES; SALES; SHIPPING; SCHEDULING OF PROJECTS; ACCOUNTS PAYABLE; ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE; PAYROLL; SUTA TAX CALCULATION; FUTA TAX CALCULATION; PAYROLL TAX CALCULATION

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
flex hours, 3 weeks vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes work with a primarily hispanic workforce; like about my job

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amn/a
8am to 9amrun payroll
9am to 10amupdate and run checks for accounts payable
10am to 11amupdate and run reports for Accounts Receivable, make any necessary collection calls
11am to 12pmfiling
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmfiling
2pm to 3pmupdate project calendar
3pm to 4pmupdate website
4pm to 5pmgo home
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Unemployment Office

What was the application process?
Submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, contained one interview with the owner of the company and the field manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
goals, work experience, education

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, when I started they had not had anyone in the office for months and it took me a couple months to get the books and filing caught up

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, Had to learn quickbooks (we used peachtree in college classes), also had to learn the varities of plants we grow(botanical and common name, growth habit, maximum height etc.)

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, My degree is in accounting which entails a variety of activites I do on a daily basis.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes my internship taught me how to do a set of books by monthly basis, how to reconcile them and how to figure any taxes due and when to pay them.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I work in the nursery industry (also considered farming)and I would send resumes out.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Need great communication and organizational skills. You have to be able to multi-task. You have to be able to communicate well with other employees and customers to get your objective across and move forward.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes you will need a degree or several years of experience

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared it is very fast paced. If you are looking for something laid back this is not for you.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, My career plan was to join a firm and eventually open one of my own. But since here at this job I love it and get to experience more than I would in a firm. Even though I love accounting… There is more that I can do with this position.

What are your current career goals?
My goals are here in the present. I have found a job a love and works for me and hope to be here for many years.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1internship5 mo8.5monthly books for a varity of companies, payroll taxes, suta tax, futa tax
Prior Job 2Waitress210waitress

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Tennessee Technological UniversityAccounting / Bachelor of Science in Business Administration
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.